Kinderknecth Locks Up NCRA Mod-Lite Honors


SALINA, Kan. – Two-time and defending NCRA Mod-Lite champion Justin Kinderknecth started on the outside front row and led every lap to claim the season finale for the series Saturday night at Salina Speedway and claim his third series championship.

Mike Zrubek and Kinderknecht started on the front row for the 15-lap feature with Kinderknecht wasting no time, taking the lead as the green flag waed. Fourth starting Ed Griggs, making the long tow from Pleasant Hill, Mo., quickly moved into the runner-up position chased Kinderknecht throughout the race but could’t get within striking distance to make a challenge for the lead.

The leader encountered slower cars with just two laps to go but that didn’t slow his pace as Kinderknecht went on to claim the fifteen car length victory and wrap up his third Mod-Lite championship, having won the title in 2013, 2015 and now 2016.

Griggs settled for second while seventh starting Dustin Forsberg finished third and also claim the rookie of the year honors. Brandon Gray settled for fourth while Ryan Ayers came from his thirteenth starting position to round out the top five.

The finish:

Justin Kinderknecht, Ed Griggs, Dustin Forsberg, Brandon Gray, Ryan Ayers, Mike Zrubek, Cody Kretchmar, Owen Edwards, Ryan Secrest, Nathan Wolfe, Tim Stuner, Alex Loveless, Jeremy Heim.