Johnson & Murphy Top IMCA Stock Cars


BOONE, Iowa — Sean Johnson and Trent Murphy won Stock Car qualifying features while Rocky Alexander became the first Canadian driver in any division to qualify for a main event Wednesday night at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex.

Johnson led start to finish in the first qualifier, which ran 20 laps flag to flag with a starting field that owns a collective 21 national IMCA championships and eight Super Nationals crowns.

Mike Nichols, David Smith, 2001 Super Nationals champ Brian Blessington and defending king Jeremy Christians rounded out the top five at Boone Speedway.

Murphy had to hold off Jeremy Gettler while both drivers had to deal with a lapped car in the final circuits of the second qualifier. Murphy caught Shay Curtin for the lead on lap seven and Gettler was scored second the next time around.

A car length would be the difference at the checkers, with Alexander, Stefan Sybesma and Curtin following in the barnburner.

The top five from the two features will square off in a five-lap dash on Thursday to determine their order for the inside row of Saturday’s main event.

Alexander, the track champion at Estevan Motor Speedway, started his run toward the front from the 11th starting position. He’s piloting Christians’ 2009 Wolfe Chassis.

“The car was really working for us. We had it dialed in,” he said. “We watched a couple heat races before ours, saw how the track was changing and set the car up. We really learned a lot from coming here last year.”

The finishes:

First feature: Sean Johnson, Mike Nichols, David Smith, Brian Blessington, Jeremy Christians, Keith White, Larry Portis, Jeff Mueller, Damon Murty, Kyle Vanover, Bob Rebstock, Casey Woken, Jeff Whiting, Randy Brands, Brett Woznicki, Paul Shepherd, Donavon Smith, Jeff Anderson, Jeff Turner, Dustin Larson, Kenneth Hansen, Jason Cook, Jamie Colwell, Travis Prochaska.

Second feature: Trent Murphy, Jeremy Gettler, Rocky Alexander, Stefan Sybesma, Shay Curtin, Nathan Burke, Jason VanSickel, Alan Van Gorp, Jay Schmidt, Wayne Gifford, Matt Greiner, Jerry Gifford, Kyle Dumpert, Tom Suess, Jake Ludeking, Toby Miller, John Mahlberg, Ned Kalis, Andy Altenburg, Abe Huls, Ryan Rose, Ryan Cook, Jason Ward, Don Killen.