Hiett Collects $5,000 Dixie Speedway Victory


WOODSTOCK, Ga, — Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala. didn’t know what to expect when he rolled into Dixie (Ga.) Speedway for the Southeastern Classic.

Hiett’s new Barry Wright Race Car didn’t have a lap on it before unloading at the Woodstock, Ga. pits but he led flag-to-flag for the biggest win of his career and the $5,000 payday at Dixie Speedway. Hiett held off a last lap challenge by Ray Cook’s Capital Race Car to go on to the victory and Donald McIntosh, who rallied from tenth, finished third in his Blount Motorsports Rocket Chassis.

Hiett led the field down to the green flag for the start of the main event and grabbed the early commanding lead. On the third lap, Shane Clanton would slip past Clint Smith for the third spot but by the seventh lap, be in the pits after slowing for the first caution flag.

On the eighth lap, Clint Smith and third starting Shawn Chastain would battle for the second spot but Chastain would hold the low line and the second spot over last week’s Senoia, Ga. winner Smith.

After the lap nine restart, Ray Cook, who restarted fifth would take just one lap to make two passes and roll to the third spot behind leader Hiett and second place driver Shawn Chastain. Cook would try to get around Chastain for the next few laps. As the next yellow would wave, Cook had the opportunity to line up beside Chastain and now challenge for the race lead behind Hiett.

By the 17th lap, Donald McIntosh would rally from his tenth starting spot to take fourth from Clint Smith and by lap 25, McIntosh would be in the third spot. Smith and McIntosh would battle until the lap 24 when the yellow came out. McIntosh would move like a rocket ship on the restart and grab the third spot for good and hold it until the end.

Shane Clanton brought out the first of four caution flags on the seventh lap as he slowed on the main straight-away. He pulled his Capital Race Car pit-side under the yellow. The second yellow flag would wave on the ninth lap as Brian Reese spun around in turn three and took a hard hit to the inside retaining wall. The next yellow flag would be for Todd Morrow as he came to a stop on the front chute.

The event drew 31 entries. Hiett was the fastest qualifier with a 13.892 second lap. Consolation winners were Jordy Nipper and Tyler Millwood.

The finish:

Jason Hiett, Ray Cook, Donald McIntosh, Shawn Chastain, Jake Knowles, William Thomas, Clint Smith, Dale Thurman, Jordy Nipper, Austin Smith, Cody King, Kayne Hickman, Mike McConnell, Eric Granger, Tyler Millwood, David Payne, Kurt English, Jason Croft, Todd Morrow, Michael Page, Brian Reese, Johnny Chastain, Shane Clanton, Brian Smith