Havlik Reigns Supreme

MODIFIED MONSTERS: Jay Noteboom (7n), Scott Baker (15x) and Jeff Stephens race out of turn two during the modified feature Saturday night at Boone (Iowa) Speedway. (Jeff Bylsma Photo)

MODIFIED MONSTERS: Jay Noteboom (7n), Scott Baker (15x) and Jeff Stephens race out of turn two during the modified feature Saturday night at Boone (Iowa) Speedway. (Jeff Bylsma Photo)

By Jim Conaway

BOONE, Iowa — Randy Havlik lived by the famed sports cliché “it ain’t over until it’s over,” winning Saturday night’s modified headliner that concluded the 27th annual IMCA Super Nationals at Boone Speedway.

Jay Noteboom, who earlier in the evening won the 12-lap Ron Efkamp Memorial Race of Champions, had a sizeable lead over the 33-car field with two circuits remaining.

But his car’s engine expired, allowing Havlik to inherit the lead and hold off Craig Reetz for the victory.

“I feel for Jay,” Havlik said. “I have had that happen to me. I was leading one when I was racing stock cars here and let one get away from me like that.

“But you have to take wins like this one when they fall into your lap. It’s unbelievable that we were able to win it. This is easily my biggest win and I can’t say enough things to thank my crew. Without their support, this wouldn’t be possible.”

Reetz, Jeff Stephens, Russ Dickerson and Cale Sponsler completed the top five.

The Smith brothers, Donavon and Dustin, continued their string of good luck in the stock-car ranks.

Dustin won the 10-lap Race of Champions with Donavon finishing third.

Donavon, though, rebounded to claim the 30-lap championship event by finishing ahead of Texan Chad Estes, who was vying to become the first non-Iowan to win the event.

David, a third Smith brother, was scored fourth and Dustin sixth.

“That is great,” Donavon said. “How many families can have three brothers finish among the top 10 like we did?”

“I would say that it is pretty good teamwork.”

Shannon Anderson outran Robby Marsh to capture the 25-lap hobby stocker.

“We had a good week and couldn’t have asked for a better one,” Anderson said. “This is a great event to be a part of and there isn’t a better time to be at the best part of your game.”

Devin Smith, another member of the Smith brothers clan, finished 13th in the 27-car race.

Mike Pruitt finished ahead of Austin Kaplan to win the 20-lap Northern SportMod championship and ended the week by winning all but one of his races.

Kevin Sather held off R.J. Merchant to win the 10-car, 10-lap Race of Champions.

The finishes:
Modifieds: Randy Havlik, Craig Reetz, Jeff Stephens, Russ Dickerson, Cale Sponsler, Johnny Saathoff, Max Corporon, Michael Albertson, Ronnie Wallace, Troy Cordes, Jerry Luloff, Kevin Stoa, Scott Baker, David Murray, Pat Graham, Jake Durbin, Benji LaCrosse, Jay Nateboom, Jonathan Snyder, Brad Williams, Al Hejna, Kelly Lyons, Nick Deal, Jeff Schroyer, John Logue, Jr., Michael Long, Mark Elliott, Nicholas Littlejohn, Reese Coffee, Jeremy Mills, Chris Dawson, Keith White, Jeff Taylor.

Stock Cars: Donavon Smith, Chad Estes, Jeremy Christians, David Smith, Brandon Czarapata, Dustin Smith, Robert Stofer, Jesse Colwell, Jeffrey Wollam, Keith Knop, Jeff Mueller, Mike Jergens, John Heinz, Travis Sherfick, Jay Schmidt, Chris Ullrich, Nathan Burke, Norman Chesmore, Mike Nichols, Justin Temeyer, Trent Murphy, Brian Blessington, Jamie Colwell, Josh Hohensee, Jeffrey Larson, Jeff McCollum, Dustin Vis, Brian Irvine, Damon Murty, Steve Jackson.

Hobby Stock: Shannon Anderson, Robby Marsh, John Cain, Nick Murty, Scott Lograsso, Nathan Wood, Paul Wenzloff, Todd Reitzler, Dustin Larson, Ashton Lee, Beau Kaplan, Pat Mather, Devin Smith, Corey Madden, Alan Van Gorp, Kenneth Hansen, Chris Jensen, Craig Brotherton, Eric Stanton, Jesse VanLaningham, Kenny Loftus, Jeremy Hoskinson, Larry Embrey, Chad Fegley, Jason Kohl, Rusty Montagne, Andy Boeckman.

SportMods: Mike Pruitt, Austin Kaplan, Tracy Wassenberg, Geoff Olson, Benji Legg, Jeremy Embrey, Scott Davis, Jared Timmerman, Josh Long, Troy Jerovetz, Austin Lucas, Chad Ten Naple, Rick Kretschmann, Cody Warrick, Clinton Luellen, Mark Rose, Kyle Brown, Adam Ackerman, Kevin Sather, Shay Woods, Nathan Chodur, Brett Moffitt, Steve Stewart, Doug Smith, Kurt Hogan, Brett Meyer, Brian Miller.

Previous articleSaldana Steals Gold
Next articleArmstrong Takes Joliet Stadium Finale
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.