Gustin Controls Super Nationals Finale

Richie Gustin and family enjoy victory lane Saturday night at the IMCA Super Nationals. (Dennis Daniel photo)
Richie Gustin and family enjoy victory lane Saturday night at the IMCA Super Nationals. (Dennis Daniel photo)

BOONE, Iowa — Richie Gustin simply dominated the field of 241 IMCA Modifieds in this year’s Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex.

After scoring an opening night qualifying feature win on Wednesday, earning the pole of the 33 car, 40 lap feature, Gustin led all 40 laps in his Skyrocket chassis and earn $5,700 for his victory.

“This is awesome,” Gustin said after he took the checkered flags as fans stood and cheered loudly at the packed house at Boone Speedway. “This is what it’s all about right here.”

Gustin held off a charge by his brother and defending Super Nationals winner Jimmy Gustin and over several late cautions was able to hold off challenges from Mike VanGenderen and Darin Duffy to pick up the popular victory amid a standing-room-only crowd on Saturday night.

Over the final few laps, R. Gustin continued to show the dominance he had on display since opening night on Wednesday night. He motored away to the win, improving his previous best Super Nationals finish of fourth, and picking up the crown jewel of IMCA modified racing.

Mike Van Genderen made a late charge to finish second with Darin Duffy, J.D. Auringer and Eric Dailey filling the top five.

Gustin added to the lore of the Gustin family as the kings of Modified racing. With Jimmy winning last years race, and other brother Ryan tearing up the USMTS Modified tour this year and likely to be crowned USMTS National Champion, there’s little doubt that the racing Gustins are on top of the modified world.

Cody Nielsen topped the hobby stock finale and Scott Davis was best in the SportMod division on Saturday night. Sean Johnson, who also won a qualifying night feature earlier in the week, took the checkered flag in the stock car finale.

The finish:

Richie Gustin, Mike VanGenderen, Darin Duffy, J.D. Auringer, Eric Dailey, Jerry Luloff, Randy Havlik, Jonathan Snyder, Johnny Saathoff, Jeremy Mills, J.J. Wise, Josh Gilman, Mark Elliott, David Murray, Jr., Dustin Smith, Todd Shute, John Allen, Kevin Sustaire, Joel Bushore, Josh Ruby, Brad Pounds, Jared Siefert, Scott Olson, Kellen Chadwick, Clint Hatlestad, Jake Durbin, Don Hagan, Jr., Josh Truman, Jimmy Gustin, Bill Davis, Jr., Hank Berry, Josh McGaha, Corey Lagroon.