Great Scott Conquers Boothill Speedway


GREENWOOD, La. — Stormy Scott took the lead at the start of the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series main event, survived a late-race caution and withstood a last-minute challenge from Rodney Sanders to win the fourth annual Marshall Mobile Homes Battle at Boothill Sunday night at the Boothill Speedway.

From the pole, Scott beat fellow front row starter Sanders into the first turn and took command. Sanders chased Scott around the high-banked third-mile red clay oval for the first nine laps when the yellow flag waved to slow the action.

For the restart, Sanders opted for the inside slot which gave Bobby Malchus the outside line. For the next 20 laps, Sanders and Malchus raced virtually side by side while Scott raced off from the field.

Finally securing the second spot from Malchus with 12 laps to go, Sanders began to eat away at the leader’s advantage as Scott tussled with heavy lapped traffic.

Sanders finally reached Scott’s rear bumper with five laps to go, but the caution flag appeared again the next time around when Clyde Dunn Jr. came to a stop on the track with problems under the hood of his machine.

With a clear track ahead, Scott was able to hold off Sanders for the final four laps to score his second USMTS win of the season and pocket $4,000 for his efforts.

For Sanders, his run capped off a weekend that included three heat race wins, one feature win and two main event runner-up finishes to launch him into the points lead of the USMTS Allgayer, Inc. Southern Region presented by Day Motor Sports.

Jason Hughes kept his streak of strong early-season runs going with a close third-place finish while Jason Ingalls snagged fourth ahead of Zack VanderBeek who earned the Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award after racing from 12th to fifth.

The finish:

Stormy Scott, Rodney Sanders, Jason Hughes, Jason Ingalls, Zack VanderBeek, Bobby Malchus, Johnny Scott, Chris Brown, Ryan Gustin, Kelly Shryock, Chris Henigan, Austin Siebert, Joey Galloway, Dereck Ramirez, Dustin Hyde, Steve Whiteaker Jr., Trevor Hunt, Larry Clevenger, Micah Thompson, Clyde Dunn Jr., Philip Houston, Tyler Townsend, Thomas Tillison Jr., Shane Hebert.