Van Genderen Scores At Lee County


DONNELLSON, Iowa – Mike Van Genderen was consistent in finishing second in 2013 point standings for the XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour.

His IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified series-first victory Monday night will go a long way toward winning the 2014 tour championship.

Van Genderen emerged as the new point leader Monday following a back-and-forth battle at Lee County Speedway with Jesse Sobbing.

The two swapped the front spot as the 30-lapper wound down and were virtually side-by-side com­ing to the white flag. Sobbing scraped the frontstretch wall before Van Genderen surged ahead to take the $1,000 checkers by a car length.

Pole starter Hunter Marriott led the first nine laps before giving way to Sobbing. The only caution of the night waved on lap 18; Van Genderen was scored first across the stripe on lap 20 but Sobbing was back in front the next time around.

Richie Gustin, Marriott and Jeff Waterman completed the top five. Hard charger Jeremy Mills ad­vanced nine spots to sixth.

Tim Ward went into the night tied with Van Genderen for first in the points race, started 17th and finished 12th. Van Genderen was already on the ballot for the upcoming Fast Shafts All-Star Invita­tional by virtue of his Desert Classic victory at Canyon Speedway Park in Ward’s home state of Arizona.

The finish:

Mike Van Genderen, Jesse Sobbing, Richie Gustin, Hunter Marriott, Jeff Waterman, Jeremy Mills, Bill Roberts, Steve Stewart, Scott Drake, Ronn Lauritzen, Jeff Joldersma, Tim Ward, Jacob Murray, Cayden Carter, Mike Jergens, Kyle Brown, Jeff Mueller, Mark Elliott, Nick Roberts, Brandon Banks, Dustin Brown, Levi Smith, Dennis LaVeine, Jim Lynch.

Previous articleSwindell Shifts Focus To Knoxville Nationals
Next articleKarting Returns To Knoxville Raceway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.