Tripleheader Weekend On Tap For USMTS


CRANDALL, Texas – Up next for the United States Modified Touring Series is a tripleheader at three popular speedplants in Texas and Louisiana this Friday, Saturday and Sunday, March 15-17.

The RPM Speedway in Crandall, Texas, kicks things off this Friday, March 15, with the inaugural Honeycutt Sand & Gravel Modified Nationals powered by Lecolift as the quarter-mile semi-banked dirt oval hosts the USMTS Modifieds for the first time in the 15-year history of the series.

Fans have waited nearly a year for the debut as the inaugural event was rained out last year just as the team haulers were filling the pit area.

Long-time Dallas-Fort Worth businessman and racer Jason Troutman acquired the facility in November, and since then the track has seen several improvements including a newly-configured racing surface that drew rave reviews during the track’s grand opening event three weeks ago.

From there, the teams trek to the Bayou State with a stop at Gene Boyter’s Ark-La-Tex Speedway in Vivian, La., on Saturday for the 4th Annual Lecolift Cajun Clash on Saturday, March 16.

Johnny Scott captured the win here the last time the USMTS visited on June 13, 2010. Jason Hughes won the event in 2009 and Duke Whiseant took home the hardware in his career-first USMTS start in the first-ever event here in 2008.

The weekend tripleheader wraps up on Sunday, March 17, at the Boothill Speedway in Greenwood, La., where fans have been treated to some exciting USMTS shows in the past.

In 2009, a caution flag with five laps to go doomed Kelly Shryock as it erased a seven-second lead and allowed Jason Hughes to muscle his way to victory. Two year later, Shryock returned to exact his revenge and won the last USMTS race here in 2011.

Hughes also bagged the feature win in the series debut here in 2007, while Jack Sullivan won in April 2009 on what was then a big 7/16-mile oval. Since then, the track has been reduced to a racy third-mile oval.

Previous articleKISS Sprints Release 2013 Schedule
Next articleMarino Franchitti Leads Wet Sebring Session is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.