Three Straight For Ryan Gustin

Ryan Gustin in victory lane. (USMTS photo)
Ryan Gustin in victory lane. (USMTS photo)

LUBBOCK, Texas — Only Mother Nature has been able to stop Ryan Gustin this week as “The Reaper” reeled off his third straight Summit USMTS Southern Series win in five days Friday night at the West Texas Raceway.

After winning last Sunday at the Creek County Speedway to break a dry spell of more than a year, Gustin won Tuesday’s event at the Superbowl Speedway before the shows on Tuesday and Wednesday were rained out.

An opening-lap caution moved Gustin from the third starting spot to the outside of the front row for the start of the 40-lap main event, but it was 2015 USRA Modified National Champion Jake Gallardo jumping out from the pole position to lead lap one.

Gallardo ran a smooth race up front but Gustin was able to overpower the Las Cruces, N.M., racer on lap 12 and went unchallenged the remaining 28 circuits to claim the $3,000 winner’s share of the prize money.

Jake O’Neil scooted past Gallardo for second but Dereck Ramirez blew by both and secured the second spot for another top-five result while O’Neill, Gallardo and Terry Phillips were the rest of the first five to reach the checkered flag.

The finish:

Ryan Gustin, Dereck Ramirez, Jake O’Neil, Jake Gallardo, Terry Phillips, Hunter Marriott, Rodney Sanders, Fito Gallardo, Joe Duvall, Logan Robertson, A.J. Vasquez, Fred Wojtek, Philip Houston, Carlos Ahumada Jr., Eric Hughes, Monte Bolton, Lance Mari, Jimmy Ray, David Tanner, Dustin Robinson, Cory Williams, Adam Kates, Gene Weaver, Kale Westover.