Thomas Scores At Vermilion County


DANVILLE, Ill. — Ryan Thomas scored his second victory of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals in dominating fashion on Sunday night, leading every lap but the first one at Vermilion County Speedway.

Thomas, of Martinsville, Ind., becomes only the third repeat winner of the six-week 2013 season. Thomas started on the outside of Steven Brooks, of New Lenox, Ill., on the front row as the field thundered to the green flag. Brooks got the early jump on Thomas before surrendering the lead on lap 2 to Thomas, who made his move to the front in the low groove.

Thomas quickly extended his lead over Brooks, who had his hands full with Brian Lynn and Nick Allen. Brooks allowed Lynn by him for a few laps before finally recapturing the second position, but no one could catch Thomas, who had extended his lead over the field. Eventually Brooks had a chance to pass Thomas with two to go but could not pull even with him as Thomas held him off to capture the $1,000 checkered flag.

Nick Allen, Rusty Griffaw and Brian Lynn rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Steven Brooks, Randy Shuman, Ryan Thomas and Brian Lynn.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues in its final week of action Monday night at Peoria Speedway located in Peoria, Ill.

The finish:

Ryan Thomas, Steven Brooks, Nick Allen, Rusty Griffaw, Brian Lynn, Mike Harrison, Lodge Donovan, Gabe Menser, Collin Thirlby, Tim Reynolds, Clint DeMoss, Wes McClara, Dave Baldwin, Chad Evans, Kenny Carmichael, Jeffery Ledford, Kenny Carmichael Jr., Jason Thomas, Richie Dawson, Randy Shuman, Ryan Cary, Josh Ferguson.