The Doctor Is In At Canandaigua


CANANDAIGUA, N.Y. — At Land of Legends Raceway, Danny Johnson launched his No. 27j from pole position to Victory Lane to capture his first Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block modified checkered flag of the season.

Johnson lead the Liberty 100 from flag to flag, although runner up Matt Williamson closed in on multiple occasions but could not complete the pass. Point leader Matt Sheppard picked his way through the field up to a podium position, but never threatened for the lead.

With this victory Danny Johnson now has 81 Super DIRTcar Series wins to his credit and 600 career wins overall.

Land of Legends Raceway is a track that Johnson called home for a long time. He’s turned thousands of laps on the half-mile.

“I came here for many years,” Johnson said. “It’s great to have a great car. It seemed the middle was really good for me. The bottom wasn’t too good for me. There’s a couple holes in turns three and four that were tough to get through. It was a long 100-lap race and I was just glad to see it over.”

Invader Matt Williamson was strong all night. In his heat, Williamson outdueled five-time Super DIRT Week Champion Stewart Friesen for the win. The No. 6 Big-Block Modified pilot credited a new motor for some of the night’s successes. “I know we are good enough to run with these guys now,” Williamson said. “We’ve got a good race car, a good shock package, and a good bullet under the hood. Doug Holmes just put this thing together. Put it in yesterday. We weren’t gonna come. We had some oil leaks and stuff like that. But we worked late last night to get it in and good thing because the hard work paid off.”

Super DIRTcar Series points leader Matt Sheppard finished a solid third, a finish that stretched out his point lead over Max McLaughlin and Jimmy Phelps. “It was a good night for us. Congratulations to The Doctor. He was really good tonight. Matty [Williamson] was really good. They were the class of the field by far. We were pretty good but we didn’t have anything to run with them. It’s no big deal. We’ll work on our car and program and hopefully we’ll get better.”

The finish:

Danny Johnson, Matt Williamson, Matt Sheppard, Peter Britten, Stewart Friesen, Brett Hearn, Tim Fuller, Billy Dunn, Max McLaughlin, Jimmy Phelps, Pat Ward, James Sweeting, Justin Haers, Billy Decker, Alan Johnson, Rich Scagliotta, J.F. Corriveau, Kyle Coffey, Lance Dusset, Gil Tegg Jr., Derrick Podaiablo, Adam Roberts, Erick Rudolph, Chris Hile, Billy Whittaker, Dave Rauscher, Steve Paine, Andrew Ferguson, Brian Sage, Rusty Smith.