STSS Modifieds Set To Celebrate 100th Event

The four-wide parade lap prior to Saturday's Short Track Super Series Speed Showcase 200 at Port Royal Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)
The Short Track Super Series will host its 100th event when the season begins at Bubba Raceway Park later this month. (Dan Demarco photo)

OCALA, Fla. – The eighth season for the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series fueled by Sunoco kicks off with a milestone event.

The Short Track Super Series, which launched officially in 2014, will celebrate its 100th Modified main event at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla., during the upcoming Sunshine Swing which features the series’ debut at the three-eighths-mile dirt track.

Following an open practice on Jan. 26, attention turns to the lid-lifter Jan. 27 with the STSS Modifieds racing 30 laps for $4,000 to win. The series will hit the century mark in events during the Jan. 27 program.

Since the series debuted in 2014, the Short Track Super Series has completed 99 events, the most recent occurring in the Bayou State at Chatham (La.) Speedway Nov. 14.

Thirty-one different drivers have won in Short Track Super Series competition since Andy Bachetti scored the very first checkered flag on April 6, 2014.

No driver has enjoyed more success in the series than Stewart Friesen, last season’s North and South Region champion who has scored 26 victories with the Short Track Super Series. Friesen did not win in the series’ inaugural season, racking up all 26 wins since ’15.

Matt Sheppard, the Grand Champion of 2019, is second on the win list with 15. Sheppard added three triumphs to his total in November during the visit to Louisiana for the Cajun Swing including a $20,000 score at Chatham.

Ryan Godown and Anthony Perrego each have six victories in a deadlock for third, followed by Bachetti, Danny Creeden and Ryan Watt tied with five wins each.

Twenty-two different speedways have played host to the series since’ 14 in the following states: New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Louisiana and Florida. The Short Track Super Series visited eight of those states despite COVID regulations derailing many race series schedules last year.

Bubba Raceway Park will become the 23rd venue to host the series during the Sunshine Swing mini-series.