Sorensen Doubles Down At Deer Creek

Dustin Sorensen (center)Hunter Marriott and Ryan Gustin in victory lane at Deer Creek Speedway. (USMTS photo)

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. — On the anniversary of his first USMTS triumph, Dustin Sorensen  doubled his career win total Saturday with another wire-to-wire victory at the Deer Creek Speedway.

It was Saturday night of Memorial Day Weekend last year when Sorensen led all 40 laps of the main event to become the youngest ever to stand in USMTS victory lane, breaking the record held by two-time USMTS National Champion Ryan Gustin since 2008.

Now 18 years, 6 months and 24 days old, Sorensen has a second $3,000 check from the USMTS and a second champion’s trophy from the Crenlo Southern Minnesota Spring Challenge presented by Real Racing Wheels.

And just like last year, Sorensen found himself on the front row for the start of the 40-lap feature, but this time from the Sybesma Graphics Pole Position.

Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year points leader Hunter Marriott of Brookfield, Mo., garnered his first win with the series earlier this year, and nearly had his second of the season but was unable to find a way around Sorensen despite chasing him the entire distance.

Gustin, who has collected seven checkered flags at Deer Creek, found himself starting 13th but worked the top side of the high-banked three-eighths-mile clay oval to garner a third-place finish and assume the points lead in the Spike Hardcore Energy USMTS Northern Lights Series.

Brandon Davis followed ‘The Reaper’ to the finish line while 14th-starting Zack VanderBeek maneuvered his way into the top five by the end of the race.

The finish:

Dustin Sorensen, Hunter Marriott, Ryan Gustin, Brandon Davis, Zack VanderBeek, Rodney Sanders, Adam Hensel, Jake O’Neil, Lucas Schott, Jason Cummins, Jake Timm, Brad Waits, Dereck Ramirez, Cory Crapser, Joe Ludemann, Erik Kanz, J.T. Wasmund, Blake Arndt, Mike Striegel, Keith Tourville, Troy Hovey, Jacob Bleess, Chase Ellingson, Steve Wetzstein.