Scott Keeps Rolling At Super Bowl

Johnny Scott in victory lane at Super Bowl Speedway. (USMTS photo)
Johnny Scott in victory lane at Super Bowl Speedway. (USMTS photo)
Johnny Scott in victory lane at Super Bowl Speedway. (USMTS photo)

GREENVILLE, Texas — Johnny Scott had his hands full with his teammate, Dereck Ramirez, midway through the main event but cruised to victory in the inaugural United States Modified Touring Series event at the Superbowl Speedway Thursday night.

Scott seized the lead from polesitter Billy Brierton on the second lap and topped the running order for the next 11 laps before Ramirez snuck by on the inside.

The pair swapped the top spot three more times during the next 10 laps before Scott secured the point for good with 24 complete in the 40-lap affair to kick off the S&S Fishing & Rental Southern Region presented by Day Motor Sports.

Just past halfway through the race, Stormy Scott was challenging Ramirez for second when they made contact.

After the yellow flag, the elder Scott twin was forced to restart the race at the tail of the field.

While Johnny Scott pulled away from the pack and cruised the final 15 laps to the win, Ramirez fell victim to an oil slick laid down on the racing surface by another driver and slid back several positions, winding up seventh at the finish line.

Local favorite Cody Smith won the USRA Weekly Racing Series season opener two weekends ago at the quarter-mile semi-banked dirt oval, and came up one spot short of repeating that feat, racing from 10th on the 26-car starting grid.

Defending USMTS national champion Rodney Sanders was third, Clyde Dunn Jr. finished fourth and rookie-of-the-year point leader Jake Gallardo rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Johnny Scott, Cody Smith, Rodney Sanders, Clyde Dunn Jr., Jake Gallardo, Cade Dillard, Dereck Ramirez, Wesley Veal, Stormy Scott, Adam Penn, Bryan Rowland, Kelly Shryock, Daniel Hilsabeck, T.J. Steele, Trevor Egbert, Austin Theiss, Tristan Dycus, John Webb, Philip Houston, Shane Sprinkle, Matt Deaver, Bobby Ruffin, Micah Thompson, R.J. Stroman, Billy Brierton, Greg Garrett.