Scott Closing In On USMTS Crown

Johnny Scott exits his car after winning Wednesday's United States Modified Touring Series feature at Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis. (Bruce Nuttleman Photo)
Johnny Scott exits his car after winning Wednesday’s United States Modified Touring Series feature at Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis. (Bruce Nuttleman Photo)

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. – Johnny Scott took one giant leap toward his goal of becoming the next USMTS National Champion Wednesday night as he landed in victory lane after the 40-lap main event at the Cedar Lake Speedway.

The 23-year-old from Las Cruces, N.M., started seventh on the 26-car grid and wrestled the lead away from his teammate, Dereck Ramirez, with 11 laps remaining.

Outside front-row starter Trent Follmer, who won his first and only USMTS feature here in 2002, beat polesitter Ryan Gustin to the flagstand to lead the first lap and stretched his lead out until the first caution.

Working the high line around the high-banked 3/8-mile speedplant, Ramirez powered by Follmer to lead the twelfth lap. Follmer changed his line and followed in the new leader’s tracks while Scott now had an open track in front of him on the low side of the racing surface.

Scott caught Ramirez at the halfway point but Ramirez moved down to test the bottom groove. Two laps later, he returned to the long path around with Scott alone on the bottom.

The two ran side by side for eight laps before Scott finally was scored the leader at the end of the 29th circuit. Ramirez switched to the low line a few laps later, but it was too little too late as Scott maintained a four-car-length advantage to the checkered flag.

Including the Big Dog Buy-In bonus money, Scott walked away with a $5,200 paycheck for his efforts. It was his ninth win of the season and his first during the Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup.

Overall, it was the 21st win of his career, tying him for eighth on the all-time wins list with Zack VanderBeek. Both are former USMTS Rookie of the Year Award winners.

Follmer made late-race charge and nearly slipped past Ramirez, but he settled for third place in the end. Jason Hughes wound up fourth and Rodney Sanders passed ten cars en route to his fourth top-5 finish in ‘The Hunt.’

Previous articleFourth Shrine 100 For Franklin
Next articleDeltaWing Offering Coupe Version For Sale is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.