Sanders Sweeps Red Cedar

Rodney Sanders picked up another USMTS win on Thursday. (USMTS photo)
Rodney Sanders picked up another USMTS win on Thursday. (USMTS photo)
Rodney Sanders picked up another USMTS win on Thursday. (USMTS photo)

MENOMONIE, Wis. – Rodney Sanders solidified his place at the top of the rankings in the Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup with his 22nd main event win of the season Thursday night at Red Cedar Speedway.

“The Rocket” made it a clean sweep of the program by winning his heat race and earning the Sybesma Graphics Pole Award by earning the most passing points among the 44 entrants.

Johnny Scott started on the pole for the second straight night and jumped out to an early lead, but fifth-starting Jason Krohn grabbed the top spot as the field completed the tenth lap.

Sanders, who started eighth, methodically worked his way to the front and eventually passed his teammate for the lead on lap 24.

From there, the only thing left to do was scribble Sanders’s name on the giant-sized winner’s check for the second night in a row.

The win, was worth $3,000 to the 24-year-old from Happy, Texas, and helped him expand his lead in the points as he eyes his second straight USMTS national championship.

Krohn held on to collect the runner-up paycheck with local favorite Jesse Glenz scoring a third-place finish in his career-first start in a United States Modified Touring Series event.

Multi-time Wissota national champ Craig Thatcher was fourth and Brent Larson finished fifth while earning his second Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award of the season. He started 15th.

Sixth through tenth, respectively, were Johnny Scott, Zack VanderBeek, Jake Hartung, Lucas Schott and Stormy Scott.

With eight rounds in the books and 11 more to go in the Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup, Sanders now leads VanderBeek by 90 points (835 to 745) with Johnny Scott sitting third with 677 markers. Fourth through tenth are Stormy Scott (662), Dereck Ramirez (644), Kelly Shryock (631), Daniel Hilsabeck (600), Joe Duvall (572), Jake Gallardo (524) and Trevor Hunt (494).

On Friday, the series heads to Bob Timm’s majestic Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis.

The finish:

Rodney Sanders, Jason Krohn, Jesse Glenz, Craig Thatcher, Brent Larson, Johnny Scott,  Zack VanderBeek ,Jake Hartung, Lucas Schott, Stormy Scott,  Robby Bunkelman, Adam Hensel, Josh Angst, Eric Pember,  Lance Hofer, Kelly Shryock, John Allen, Dereck Ramirez, Les Duellman,  Paul Harelstad, Mike Anderson, Joey Jensen, Ashley Anderson, Daniel Hilsabeck, Jason Miller, Clayton Wagamon