Sanders Keeps Rolling In USMTS Action

Rodney Sanders celebrates another USMTS win on Friday. (USMTS photo)
Rodney Sanders celebrates another USMTS win on Friday. (USMTS photo)
Rodney Sanders celebrates another USMTS win on Friday. (USMTS photo)

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. – On Friday night at Mississippi Thunder Speedway, the Hunt for the USMTS Casey’s Cup made its third stop of the week in the Dairy State and Rodney Sanders milked his third victory and another $3,000 out of the prize pool.

Despite starting on the front row for the 40-lap main event, Sanders fell in line behind Bob Timm at the start of the race, and then drifted back to third when Jason Krohn zipped past both drivers on lap 4.

Sanders got around Timm for second three laps later and began to challenge Krohn for the lead, eventually taking over the top spot with 13 laps complete.

Timm, however, roared back ahead of both drivers on the next lap, but Sanders fought back and reclaimed the lead with 18 circuits in the books.

Meanwhile, tenth-starting Jesse Glenz was clawing his way to the front and raced into the second spot with eight laps to go.

There was no catching the defending USMTS national champion, however, and Sanders sailed on to his 23rd United States Modified Touring Series win of the 2014 campaign.

It also gave the 24-year-old from Happy, Texas, his 41st career USMTS triumph, leaving him just one shy of tying the mark of Tommy Myer, who sits fourth on the all-time wins list.

Glenz, who recorded a third-place finish at his home track the previous night, added a runner-up finish to his weekend on Friday night while Krohn came home third ahead of Jeremy Houle, giving the MB Customs chassis a top-four sweep.

The finish:

Rodney Sanders, Jesse Glenz, Jason Krohn, Jeremy Houle, Zack VanderBeek, Tommy Myer, Stormy Scott, Lucas Schott, Joe Duvall, Craig Thatcher, Bob Timm, Kelly Shryock, Joey Jensen, Trevor Hunt, Johnny Scott, Eric Pember, Lance Hofer, Joel Alberts, Jake Timm, Brent Larson, John Allen, Clayton Wagamon, Josh Angst, Jason Miller, Dereck Ramirez, Adam Hensel

Previous articlePeterson Stays Hot At Mid-Ohio
Next articleFemale Driver Killed At Wall Stadium is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.