Sanders Inherits Wild West Mod Victory

Rodney Sanders inherited the modified win after apparent race winner, Dustin Strand was disqualified in post-race inspection in Wednesday’s Wild West Shootout. (Tyler Rinken photo)

SAN TAN VALLEY, Ariz. — Dustin Strand had the field cover during the modified portion of Wednesday’s Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts at Arizona Speedway, but at the end of the night, it was Rodney Sanders celebrating the victory. It was third different winner in three races.

Stand took the early lead and held off an early challenge from Fito Gallardo. Gallardo suffered mechanical issues and Sanders quickly capitalized, moving into second.  holding off challenges from Fito Gallardo and Sanders. Sanders quickly moved to second, but could not keep pace with Strand. The final seven laps went caution free with Strand crossing the finish line 2.101 seconds ahead of Strand. However, the victory was short lived when Strand was disqualified for a rules infraction during post-race inspection.

Sanders was declared the winner, giving him is first Wild West Shootout victory. Casey Skyberg finished second and Lucas Schott was third. Shane Sabraski and Tyler Wolff rounded out the top five.

Preston Carr took an early lead in the X-mod division, and survived several caution flags to capture the victory over Cole Campbell and Brock Gronwold.

Modified Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 20-Rodney Sanders[9]; 2. 6-Casey Skyberg[1]; 3. 69-Lucas Schott[13]; 4. 7A-Shane Sabraski[17]; 5. 4W-Tyler Wolff[24]; 6. 1TPO-Tyler Peterson[19]; 7. 26G-Ryan Gierke[4]; 8. 21-Jacob Bleess[23]; 9. 65X-Carlos Ahumada Jr[8]; 10. 8-Dillon McCowan[22]; 11. 85D-Mark Dotson[7]; 12. 27X-Calvin Iverson[18]; 13. 91-Joe Duvall[12]; 14. 21H-Andy Bryant[14]; 15. G17-Fito Gallardo[2]; 16. 111-Bumper Jones[15]; 17. 37-Clint Johnson[6]; 18. 19SB-Lance Mari[5]; 19. 30-Matt Leer[10]; 20. 4R-Jared Russell[16]; 21. 3J-Josh Cain[11]; 22. 111X-Logan Drake[20]; 23. 85-Jayson Good[21]; 71-Dustin Strand[3] (DQ)