Randy Timms Romps To MLRA LM Score

Randy Timms in victory lane at Lucas Oil Speedway. (MLRA photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Thirty-one Lucas Oil MLRA Late Models rolled into Lucas Oil Speedway Friday night for the opening round of the fourth annual Fall Nationals.

For the second straight race, Randy Timms climbed out of his race car in Andy’s Frozen Custard Victory Lane.

Taking the lead from polesitter Brent Larson on lap two, Timms rolled raced virtually uncontested the remainder of the feature.

“I felt like we had the best starting spot being on the outside,” said Timms. “We just did our thing and it all worked out. I’ve always liked this place, we’ve just been getting better with our little race car here.”

Cade Dillard closed in late, running second, but never got any further. It was a great performance, especially considering it was his first time in the car, and only third ever Late Model race. He was quick to thank his owner, Shane Sprinkle, crew and sponsors for their help.

“We took off and I knew we were pretty decent,” Dillard stated. “We got up to second there and then, rookie mistake there, I burnt the brakes off of it. Bad habits from my mod. I was riding them way too hard. We had a really good hot rod. I’ve dreamed of driving a Late Model since I was about four years old. To be able to do this is pretty cool for me.”

Larson quietly settled into third and clicked off his laps just behind Timms and Dillard in his Longhorn Chassis.

The finish:

Randy Timms, Cade Dillard, Brent Larson, Chad Simpson, Payton Looney, Terry Phillips, Jack Sullivan, Austin Siebert, Cole Wells, Rickey Frankel, Rodney Sanders, Logan Martin, Tad Pospisil, Dave Eckrich, Jason Rauen, Mason Oberkramer, Raymond Merrill, Jeremy Grady, Tony Jackson Jr., Bill Leighton, J.C. Wyman, Jesse Stovall, Billy Moyer, Chase Junghans.