Marriott Romps To Oskaloosa USMTS Score


OSKALOOSA, Iowa — A little rain in the afternoon added a little humidity to an already hot day, but Hunter Marriott was able to outlast Dereck Ramirez and then withstand the heat from Rodney Sanders to claim the win Tuesday when the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s invaded the Southern Iowa Speedway.

Driving the No. 62 Mtn Dew Zero/Casey’s Rage Chassis powered by KSE, Marriott took over on lap 16 when leader Dereck Ramirez retired from the race with mechanical troubles after pacing the first 15 circuits before smoke began billowing from beneath his mount.

After a brief caution, ‘The Hustler’ held off Sanders the rest of the way to garner the $2,500 top prize.

“Definitely a fast track tonight and the heat made it hard on motors today,” Marriott said following his fourth career USMTS win. “All in all it was a good night for us. Sorry to see that for Dereck. I know he was blowing water but I don’t know what happened.”

Behind the Brookfield, Mo., racer, Sanders settled for the runner-up paycheck while registering his 19th top-ten finish in 19 starts during the 2020 campaign. The defending USMTS national champion will continue as the Wrisco Points Leader when they head to the I-80 Speedway this Friday and Saturday for the 10th Annual Imperial Tile Silver Dollar Nationals.

A spirited battle between two Wichita, Kan., racers saw Tanner Mullens wind up with the spot while Tyler Davis—who hails from nearby Haysville, Kan., and leads the Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year points—took fourth at the finish line in front of Jason Hughes.

The finish:

Dereck Ramirez, Tanner Mullens, Kyle Brown, Jason Hughes, Rodney Sanders, Zack VanderBeek, Jacob Bleess, Hunter Marriott, Cayden Carter, Adam Kates, Dennis Elliott, Tyler Davis, Chase Rudolf, Randy Foote, Cory Sauerman, Tony Cox, Joe Duvall, John Davis, Calvin Iverson, Nathan Hagar, Josh Gilman, Cole Ferguson, Nick Roberts, Casey Skyberg.