Phillips & Turnbull Speed In The Desert


LAS VEGAS – The 2013 edition of the Duel in the Desert at the Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway began on Thursday evening, with 247 modified  drivers all vying for positions in Saturday’s 40-lap finale.

Eight drivers were able to lock up starting positions for Saturday’s A-Main during Thursday’s two 25-lap features. Each 25-lap event featured 30 cars, with the top four drivers advancing to Saturday’s finale.

In the first feature, USMTS standout Terry Phillips found his way to victory lane and a guaranteed spot in Saturday’s finale. Also advancing to Saturday were Jeff Taylor, Justen Yeager and Kyle Rohleder.

In the second 25-lap feature, Aaron Turnbull was able to pick up the checkered flag ahead of Dylan Smith, Jordan Grabouski and Justin O’Brien.


Previous articleWORLD FINALS: Sprint Car Notes
Next articleVIDEO: WoO Finals – Are You Ready is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.