Phillips Tops Deer Creek Matinee

Terry Phillips celebrates in victory lane after winning Friday afternoon's United States Modified Touring Series make-up feature at Deer Creek Speedway. (USMTS Photo)
Terry Phillips celebrates in victory lane after winning Friday afternoon’s United States Modified Touring Series make-up feature at Deer Creek Speedway. (USMTS Photo)

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. – Terry Phillips scored a thrilling victory over Brandon Davis Friday at the Deer Creek Speedway during the second night of qualifying at the third annual World Modified Dirt Track Championship presented by Bauer Built Tire and Hanson Tire Service.

Rain delayed the second day of qualifying from Thursday to Friday, but it was worth the wait as fans witnessed great group qualifying sessions, hotly-contested heat races, a pair of wild “B” Mains and a spectacular 35-lap main event.

At the start of the feature race, Phillips disposed of polesitter Jon Tesch and quickly jumped out to a four-car-length lead over the field by the time they came back to the line to complete lap one.

Davis, the defending USRA Modified track and national champion, raced into second on the second lap and then ran down Phillips two laps later as the pair pulled away from the chasing pack of Rodney Sanders, Tesch and Josh Angst On lap 12, Davis finally closed in on Phillips’ bumper and drove underneath the 2011 Featherlite Fall Jamboree winner to take control of the race on lap 16.

Phillips didn’t go away, however, and continued to shadow Davis as they weaved in and out of heavy lapped traffic. With 23 laps in the books, Phillips took the high line exiting turn two and rocketed ahead of Davis as they entered the third turn.

Never running the same line twice, both drivers scratched and clawed for ground over the remaining nine laps with Phillips edging Davis at the finish line to score the win and assure himself a front-row start in Saturday night’s championship race.

Sanders held on for the third spot by barely holding off 15th-starting Matt Dotson. Tommy Weder Jr. finished fifth with Stormy Scott, Angst, Tesch, Tim Donlinger and Randy Timms rounding out the top 10.

Points were awarded for qualifying, heat races and the main events, with the top six in overall points earning a spot in one of the first 18 starting slots for Saturday’s finale where the winner of the 100-lapper will walk away with a whopping $20,000 and each of the 31 starters will go home with no less than $1,500.

Phillips, Davis, Sanders, Weder, Tesch and Angst wound up the top 6 in overall points for the night.

Previous articlePHOTOS: WoO STP Sprints At Lebanon Valley
Next articleMayhem Begins At Maryland Int’l Raceway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.