Pelletier Shines At Autodrome Granby


GRANBY, Quebec – Martin Pelletier always seem to find a way to shine during big events as he used slower cars to get the top spot during Monday’s DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series event at Autodrome Granby as he claimed his second victory with the series this year.

Robert Delormier and Corey Wheeler were on the top row of the 30-car field that took the initial green in the 50-lap event with Delormier setting the pace over Wheeler. As the race picked up a good rhythm, current Series point leader Shane Pecore started to challenge Delormier for the lead and was able to pass Delormier on lap 21 as the leaders were in heavy traffic.

With no cautions in the first portion, the top runners had to race with slower cars and local runners Martin Pelletier and Mathieu Desjardins used their home track advantage to join the lead as Pelletier used slower cars to pass Pecore for the lead on lap 38.

Desjardins followed suit and passed Pecore for second just before the first and only yellow occurred on lap 45.

On the restart, Pelletier was able to resist a charge from Desjardins and led the final laps to capture his second DIRTcar Sportsman Series of 2014 after claiming the opener at Cornwall.

“The car was good, we used slower cars and we had a great challenge with race going green for a long time,” Pelletier said.

Finishing second, Desjardins had mixed feelings.

“I am a little disappointed with second but it is still good for the points, we are in a good battle and the championship will be done only at the end,” Desjardins said.

Current leader Shane Pecore was happy with his third spot.

“We will take it, it’s good for the points. We’re looking forward to tomorrow at Drummond and the Western swing in September,” Pecore said.

The finish:

Martin Pelletier, Mathieu Desjardins, Shane Pecore, Brad Rouse, Robert Delormier, Joey Ladouceur, Kevin Chagnon, Kaven Poliquin, Corey Wheeler, Martin Hebert, Mathieu Laramée, Mike Maresca, Yves Léveillée, Louie Jacksonjr, Samuel Desrochers, Adam Hilton, Justin Lalancette, Adam Leslie, Alexandre Salvas, Martin Giguère, Mike Stacey, Jessica Power, Martin Lessard, Gilles Godard, Brianna Ladouceur, Samuel Lajoie, Jonathan Desilets, Alex Lajoie, Jonathan Nadeau.