Ohio & PA Tracks Unite With UMP To Sanction Modifieds


HARTFORD, Ohio – The promoters of four speedways in Northeast Ohio and Northwest Pennsylvania have joined forces to have the popular Midwest-based UMP series sanction its E-Mod races for the upcoming season.

Weekly UMP modified racing will take place on Friday nights at Raceway 7 (Conneaut, Ohio), Saturday nights at New Stateline Speedway (Busti, N.Y.), and Sunday nights at Eriez Speedway (Erie, Pa.), while Sharon Speedway (Hartford, Ohio) will run special events on select Saturday nights.

In addition, the Econo Mods at Eriez, Raceway 7 and Sharon will utilize the UMP tire and body rules with the exception of a 5” spoiler permitted. Both the UMP modifieds and Econo modifieds will have a burn-off period for the open tires. On June 1, 2021, the UMP tire rule will be in effect on the rears and all four corners on June 15, 2021.

Stateline does not run the Econo modified division, but instead runs the RUSH Pro Mods, utilizing their rules package.

The decision to have UMP sanction the modifieds and make the change on the Econo modifieds was made for the standardization of rules not only locally, but on a broader scale. Racers in the western Pennsylvania, eastern Ohio, and western New York region will now be able to more easily compete in bigger shows in the Midwest and South.

The UMP Modified cars are specifically built for dirt oval racing featuring 750 horsepower. Built to the United Midwestern Promoters (UMP) specifications, these are some of the most popular dirt oval cars in the country.