No. 5 For Poel During Modified Nationals


HAUBSTADT, Ind. — Bumping and banging was common Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway as Jacob Poel outdueled Zach Fair and Tyler Nicely to claim his fifth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of season.

Defending champion Mike Harrison captured the pole-position for the 25-lap feature event, with Poel starting to his outside. The two front-row starters remained side-by-side as they battled for the lead on the opening two circuits, with Poel barely edging Harrison to lead both laps.

Harrison secured the top spot exiting turn two on the third lap, sliding right in front of Poel and making contact as he cleared the Michigan native. Harrison controlled the lead for the next 14 laps, keeping his car glued to the bottom of the race track while holding off the high-line running Poel.

Harrison built an early lead and was on his way to his seventh victory of the season, until his car broke entering turn one on lap 17, ending his night early and handing the lead back to Poel.

Zach Fair and a hard-charging Tyler Nicely kept the new leader from easily coasting to his fifth win of the season, as they challenged Poel for the lead in almost every corner. Fair took multiple shots at the leader, coming just short of grabbing the lead, before being bumped out of the way for second by Nicely.

Nicely, after clearing Fair, dove his car to the inside of Poel to challenge for the lead with just two laps to go. The two leaders made contact exiting turn four to take the white-flag as Nicely was just inches from clearing Poel for the lead. Nicely tried everything he could to jar the lead from Poel on the final lap, but the leader was too strong on the outside, leading the races final nine laps to claim the $1,000 checkered flag at Tri-State Speedway.

Fair, Trent Young and Stephen Schnaphf rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Rocky Wilson, Jacob Poel, Stephen Schnaphf and Tyler Nicely.

The finish:

Jacob Poel, Tyler Nicely, Zach Fair, Trent Young, Stephen Schnapf, Kenny Wallace, Grant Hagan, Dave Beck, Dustin Beck, Paul Miles, Billy Lewis, Mark Lamont, Michael Fox, Everett Bradham, Larry Anderson, Shawn Cates, Mike Harrison, Nate Zimmer, Ryan Driemeyer, Josh Harris, Dave Baldwin, Mark Cole.