McGrath Masters Wilmot Modified Run


WILMOT, Wis. — Mitch McGrath topped a field of 53 modifieds on Sunday night at Wilmot Raceway to win the fourth stop on this year’s DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour.

McGrath, of Neosho, Wis., battled Craig Priewe wheel-to-wheel down the stretch before Priewe’s motor let go just as the two were coming to the white flag. McGrath went around Priewe on the outside and powered to the checkered flag worth $1,000.

“I was just trying to keep mine together,” McGrath said. “Mine was running a little bit rough at the end and I was getting real loose. He was a lot better than I was. I hate to see his motor go south. It’s always good fun racing with him.”

Heat race winners included McGrath, Priewe, Matt Rechek, Brian Mullen, Phil Rehberg, Benji Lacrosse.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Wednesday night at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill., along with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour for DIRTcar Late Models.

The finish:

Mitch McGrath, Craig Priewe, Eric Vaniten, Brad Lautenbach, Lance Arneson, Benji Lacrosse, Chris Carlson, Brian Mullen, Pat Zdroik, Eric Mahlik, Todd Dart, Jason Hyerdall, Mark Weisnicht, Cameron Kuxhouse, Joel Crowbridge, Mike Sullivan, Phil Rehberg, Tony Wedelstadt, Nick Simons, Tim Lemirande, Matt Rechek, Brian Crapser, Don Scheffler Johnny Whitman.