Long Is Sixth Different UMP Mod Winner


PONTOON BEACH, Ill. — Michael Long had the DIRTcar UMP Modified to beat all night on Friday at Tri-City Speedway, but he had to outduel late-charging Levi Kissinger to become the sixth different winner during the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour.

Long started from the pole and led 24 of the 25 laps, only losing the lead once as the field came to the white flag. Long faced challenges from three different drivers during the feature, but he didn’t lose the lead until he jumped the cushion in turn four allowing Kissinger to move in front. Kissinger led for one lap before being outdueled in the final turn by Long, who went on to secure the $1,000 checkered flag.

Josh Russell, Mike Harrison and Nick Hoffman rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Michael Long, Levi Kissinger, Josh Russell, Mike Harrison, Nick Hoffman, Jeff Leka, Donovan Lodge, Brent Mullins, Matt Mevert, Dean Hoffman, Chad Kinder, Kenny Wallace, Jeff Curl, Ray Bollinger, David Wietholder, Ray Walsh, Matt Goulden, Tyler Nicely, John Stanton, Robbie Eilers, Joe Drescm, Tommy Seets Jr.