Lone Star Series Crowns Four Champions


Lone Star Series Logo 2014WACO, Texas – Four IMCA drivers won championships, and three of them will receive pro-rated bonus points for their Texas Lone Star Series titles.

The series ended with the July 4-5 shows at Heart O’ Texas Speedway.

Josh McGaha’s two feature wins over the course of the Modified series gave him the tie-breaking edge over Keith White. Jason Batt topped point standings for the Wild Child Race Cars-spon­sored Stock Car series and Jake Upchurch paced points for the Southwest Racing Special­ties-sponsored Southern SportMod Series.

A minimum of eight events must be scheduled and held for full bonus points to be awarded and applied to national and regional standings. McGaha, Batt and Upchurch will each receive pro-rated bonus points (87.5 percent of the average car count up to 20) in addition to their shares of series point funds.

Jeremy Oliver is champion of the Hobby Stock series. No bonus points will be awarded or point fund paid because that division had only seven events scheduled, six of which were actually held.

All four drivers will receive championship jackets and plaques. McGaha, Batt and Oliver all be­come eligible to qualify for their respective races of champions at the upcoming IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.