Lee Latest Modified Nationals Victor


ATWOOD, Tenn. – Lucas Lee led 15 of 20 laps en route to victory Thursday night at Clayhill Motorsports, becoming the 10th different winner of the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals season.

Lee, of Paris, Tenn., became the second Tennessean in as many nights to claim the home state victory after Matt Cooper, of McKenzie, Tenn., won Wednesday night’s feature at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway. Preston Seratt started on the pole for the A-Main, but looped his car in turn one on the opening lap, making slight contact with Kenny Wallace.

Lee benefited the most from the caution, restarting on the inside of Cooper on the front row. Lucas Lee challenged Cooper for the next three laps before finally surrendering the lead on lap 5. Lucas Lee led the remaining 15 laps of the race, holding off a late-race charge from Bart Richardson to capture the $1,000 checkered flag.

“The car was perfect, pretty much, I just had to hit my marks and keep hitting my marks,” Lee said the race winner who utilized the inside line the entire night. “As long as we could stay on the bottom and keep it there, I knew we would be good.”

Michael Lee, Kenny Wallace and Tyler Fowler rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Seratt and Cooper.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Friday night at Paducah Int’l Raceway in Paducah, Ky.

The finish:

Lucas Lee, Bart Richardson, Michael Lee, Kenny Wallace, Tyler Fowler, Troy Fowler, Preston Seratt, Will Norris, Nicky Jackson, Bryant Dickenson, Mat Cooper, TJ Herndon, Brandon Poppenhiemer, Dustin Blevins.

Previous articleRichards Rolls Through Lernerville
Next articleJohnny Scott Owns Kennedale USMTS Go
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.