Jason Wolla Is First-Time IMCA Modified Champ

Jason Wolla won 25 features en route to the IMCA Modified national championship this season. The national title was the first for any North Dakota in any IMCA division. (Byron Fichter photo)

VINTON, Iowa — The driver known as “The Big Show” is the big name in IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing this season.

Jason Wolla raced to the IMCA Modified national championship. The 25-time feature winner is the first North Dakota driver to win a national crown in any IMCA division.

“We didn’t have any expectations for this season. We just wanted to put some wins together,” said Wolla, also the first driver from North Dakota to win IMCA’s Side Biter Chassis North Central Regional title. “We had no intentions of running for the national title. We were just racing.”

“About midway through the season we were coming home after winning at Minot, got to looking at the points and started to think maybe it was doable,” he continued. “That was when we made the commitment to run for the national championship.”

Wolla was track champion at Nodak Speedway and Southwest Speedway and scored Allstar Performance North Dakota State honors as well.

Other first-time national champions were Marcus Thomas of Corsicana, Texas, in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars; Tyler Soppe of Sherrill in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods; Cory Wil­liams of Slaton, Texas, in the Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center Southern SportMods; and Dillon Richards of Beatrice, Neb., in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.

Mike Nichols of Harlan and Shannon Anderson of Des Moines extended the single-division modern era record they share to seven national championships, in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock divisions, respectively. Justin Kay raced to a modern era record fourth IMCA Late Model national championship.

Nichols collected 32 feature wins en route to EQ Cylinder Heads Northern Region and Shelby County Speedway, Crawford County Speedway and Lexington Raceway track titles.

Anderson had 34 wins — including his career 300th — on the way to Big Daddy Race Cars Northern Region and Marshalltown Speedway and Southern Iowa Speedway crowns.