30th IMCA Dakota Classic Tour Dates Announced


MANDAN, N.D. – IMCA drivers will celebrate a milestone each night during next year’s Kupper Chevrolet IMCA Dakota Classic Tour.

IMCA Modifieds will race for $2,400 to win along with berths on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot each night of the 30th annual tour, scheduled July 6-11.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars are also on the card at Saturday through Thursday shows, running for $800 to win.

The North Dakota and Saskatchewan-based tour starts at Jamestown Speedway on July 6. This will be the 11th time Jamestown has hosted the series. Round two is July 7 at Nodak Speedway. The Minot track was one of the three original tour venues and has hosted a date each year of the long-running series.

Estevan Motor Speedway in Saskatchewan is next up on July 8. Estevan has been a tour track every year since it opened in 2000. On July 9, Williston Basin Speedway hosts the series for the 27th time.

Southwest Speedway in Dickinson is next up on July 10, also for the 27th time. On July 11, championship night takes the tour to Dacotah Speedway in Mandan.

Dacotah Speedway was one of the original tour tracks when both were created in 1990.

Details are still being worked out for the Corral Sales Legendary 50 to be held in Mandan on July 12.

All Dakota Classic Tour events will be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Features will once again qualify 30 cars in the Modified division and 24 cars in the Stock Car divi­sion. All tour tracks have agreed to increase the non-qualifier money in both divisions again next year.

IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing national, state and special series points will be awarded in both divisions. Side Biter Chassis North Central Region points are also at stake for the Modi­fieds, while EQ Cylinder Heads Northern Region points will be on tap for the Stock Cars.

Title sponsor Kupper Chevrolet will furnish a $2,000 point fund for the Modifieds and a $1,000 point fund for the Stock Cars. Contingency awards will also be given to top 10 drivers in both divi­sions.

Tour founder John Gartner returns as tour director and Dale McEwen will flag all events.

All IMCA rules will be in effect and the same procedures, payout and entry fee rates will be used at all tracks.

“The Dakota Classic Tour has become a benchmark for tours. Everyone in the country wants to emulate it,” said IMCA President Brett Root. “John has done a fantastic job from day one in promoting this tour and overseeing its growth. It’s a tour we’re proud to be associated with.”

Next year will be the 15th year, and 14th consecutive year, that IMCA has sanctioned the Modified portion of the tour.

Stock Cars have been sanctioned since joining the tour in 2008.