Hughes Walks Away At Mason City


MASON CITY, Iowa — Jason Hughes walked away with a healthy $5,050 paycheck Tuesday night as he captured the fourth annual USMTS Battle of Cerro Gordo presented by Ruter Farms and Schukei Chevrolet at the I-35 Speedway.

Polesitter Ryan Ruter, who captured the inaugural USMTS Casey’s Cup Series event at the Northern Iowa Fairgrounds in 2009, set a blistering pace early on and led the first 11 laps of the 30-lap main event.

Hughes, however, worked his way to the front from the second row and passed Ruter for the lead as they completed lap 12. Ruter regained control the next time around, but Hughes powered back into the top spot with 14 laps complete.

The 2010 USMTS national champion maintained control over the final 16 circuits to record his second win of the season and 113th of his career.

Last Friday night’s winner, Rodney Sanders, made it interesting at the end as he came up about one car length short of victory after fending off Ryan Gustin for the runner-up spot.

Stormy Scott captured the fourth spot while Zack VanderBeek took fifth. The two drivers top the Farm Boy BBQ Sauce Northern Region presented by Day Motor Sports, with Scott holding a 21-point advantage over ‘The Z-Man.’

Ruter slipped to sixth in the final rundown, followed by Lucas Schott, Dereck Ramirez, Eric Dailey and Corey Dripps, who captured the Mesilla Valley Transportation Hard Charger Award after passing 11 competitors en route to a 10th-place finish.

The finish:

Jason Hughes, Rodney Sanders, Ryan Gustin, Stormy Scott, Zack VanderBeek, Ryan Ruter, Lucas Schott, Dereck Ramirez, Eric Dailey, Corey Dripps, Daniel Hilsabeck, Joey Jensen, Pat Graham, Trevor Hunt, Dean Mahlstedt, Austin Siebert, Alex Hanson, Kelly Shryock, Joey Galloway, Kurt Kile, Doug Hillson, Keith Foss, Masen Big Eagle, Manor, Ron Jones, Steve Wetzstein.

Previous articleSbraskis Dominates At Rice Lake
Next articleHemric Stars In CMS Summer Shootout is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.