Harrison Stays Hot With LaSalle Score

Mike Harrison Thursday at LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway. (Rocky Ragusa Photo)
Mike Harrison Thursday at LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway. (Rocky Ragusa Photo)
Mike Harrison Thursday at LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway. (Rocky Ragusa Photo)

LASALLE, Ill. — A red-hot Mike Harrison charged from the fourth starting position to claim his third DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory in-a-row on Thursday night at LaSalle Speedway.

Allen Weisser and Mike McKinney would lead the field to the green flag, with Kenny Wallace and Mike Harrison starting behind them. The action started early as Mike Harrison using the highest line possible rocketed to the outside of McKinney and Wallace who were battling for the second position.

Weisser led the opening two laps of the 25-lap feature, but a high-line running Harrison rocketed past the leader on lap three. Unlike the previous two nights in which he dominated, Harrison had trouble pulling away from the field.

Weisser, Wallace and Jamie Lomax, who started the race in sixth, battled side-by-side for the second position and occasionally took shots at Harrison for the lead. The race was turning into a shootout until Weisser’s car got loose exiting turn two causing him to spin in front of the field and ruining his night.

Jacob Poel, who has been the only driver able to beat Harrison lately, rallied to the front late in the race, passing Wallace for second with sixth laps remaining. With the help of a caution, Poel was brought to Harrison’s back bumper. Poel challenged the leader, but Harrison proved to be too strong.

Harrison’s car looked to get stronger and stronger as the night went on as he was able to secure his sixth victory of the season at LaSalle Speedway. By claiming the $1,000 checkered flag, Mike Harrison extended his points lead and looks unbeatable with just two weeks remaining in the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.

Lomax, Wallace and Jeff Curl rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Weisser, Wallace, Harrison and McKinney.

The finish:

Mike Harrison, Jacob Poel, Jamie Lomax, Kenny Wallace, Jeff Curl, Mike McKinney, Nathan Balensiefen, Tom Sorn, Bob Silaggi, Collin Thirlby, Steven Brooks, Travis Kohler, Dustin Schram, Sam Schlappi, A.J. Fike, Brandon Maciejewski, Ray Bollinger, Milo Veloz Jr., Scott Heeren, R.J. Gonzales, Allen Weisser, Shannon Mudro, Cody Bauman.