Harrison Sets Sail In Tri-City Modified Go


PONTOON BEACH, Ill. – Mike Harrison ended a winless drought that stretched back to the 2013 season on Friday night, capturing the $1,000 checkered flag at Tri-City Speedway.

Harrison, the defending DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals champion, fought his way to the front following a poor finish in heat two. Dean Hoffman, the pole-sitter, charges out to the lead on lap one and dominated the first half of the 25-lap main event.

Hoffman’s car began to fade around lap 10, allowing Harrison and Michael Long to close to his back-bumper. Harrison was able to complete the pass for the lead on lap 11, as he quickly separated himself from the rest of the field. Long was able to complete the pass on Hoffman, but Harrison had already pulled away to an insurmountable lead.

Harrison claimed the victory over Long by more than four seconds as he dominated the second half of the race, leading 14 laps en route to capturing his first victory of the season.

Hoffman, Rusty Griffaw and Levi Kissinger rounded out the top five. Heat race winners included Hoffman, Ray Walsh, Brent Mullins and Rusty Griffaw.

The finish:

Mike Harrison, Michael Long, Dean Hoffman, Rusty Griffaw, Levi Kissinger, Ray Walsh, Brent Mullins, Steven Brooks, Jeff Curl, Ray Bollinger, Rick Conoyer, Tim Hancock, Steven Delonjay, Cody Conner, Kenny Wallace, Jim Black, David Wietholder, Bradley White, Matt Goulden, Jake Seets, Cory Daugherty, Donovan Lodge.