Harrison Controls Paducah Modified Romp


PADUCAH, Ky. — Mike Harrison led every lap but the opening circuit en route to capturing his first victory in the 11th installment of the DIRTcar Summit Racing Modified Nationals on Friday night at Paducah Int’l Raceway.

A field of 25 cars stormed into the three-eighths-mile oval, with former DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion Harrison capturing the $1,000 checkered flag. Harrison, of Highland, Ill., started third behind the front row of Steve Ladd and Tyler Young.

Harrison got a great jump on the opening start of the race, making it three-wide as they exited turn two. Young and Harrison split Ladd with Young leading the first lap. Harrison, using the high line, quickly passed Young and extended his lead over the field. Harrison then surged ahead and held off a last-lap challenge from Matt Mevert.

“It’s been a long year so far,” Harrison said. “We’ve struggled a little bit, I guess you could say, but you just got to keep plugging and chugging. We haven’t been able to run all the Summer Nationals yet, but tonight is the start, we are going to stay on track for a while.”

Trent Young, Rusty Griffaw and Matt Cooper rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Trent Young, Harrison and Steve Ladd.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Saturday night at the Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

The finish:

Mike Harrison, Matt Mevert, Trent Young, Rusty Griffaw, Matt Cooper, Kenny Wallace, Nick Hoffman, Levi Kissinger, Ray Bollinger, Will Krup, Cody Bauman, Danny Schwartz, John DeMoss, Brock Bauman, Everett Bradham, Zach Dennis, Steve Ladd, Bryant Dickinson, Darrell Brewer, Rich Lentz, Ron Wall, Tyler Nicely, Jeff Elliott, Ricky Sadler, Rod Reed.

Previous articleThree Straight For Johnny Scott
Next articleBergman Conquers Warrior Sprint
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.