Haers Secures First DIRTcar Modified Win


BARBERVILLE, Fla. — There’s a first time for everything. For Super DIRTcar Series driver Justin Haers that time was Wednesday night during DIRTcar Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment. Haers picked up his first series victory in a 30-lap nail-biter at Volusia Speedway Park.

“I’m so excited. This has been a long time coming,” said the Super DIRTcar Series regular of 10 years. “We’ve been close so many times, even down here last year. It’s just awesome to get a win down here. We came down here just to be competitive, and to get a win is just awesome.”

Haers started his night out right, timing second-fastest overall and picking up the win in his heat, claiming the top starting spot for the 30 lap feature. The Phelps Cement Products No. 3 took the lead at the green flag over big-bock modified rookie Anthony Perrego.

A lap-two caution slowed the pace early in the race with Mario Clair off-pace. Clair pulled into the pits and Haers reclaimed the lead when the field returned to green. He quickly started to pull away from the pack, leaving Dale Planck, Pete Britten and defending series champion Brett Hearn in a three-wide battle for third.

Britten charged ahead from the battle in lap four and pulled up beside Perrego in second. He made the pass in lap six, and by the lap seven “Batman” Britten was closing in on Haers in the lead. Behind them, Billy Pauch darted between teammates Matt Sheppard and Jimmy Phelps for sixth.

In lap nine, Britten swung around Haers in turn two and cruised ahead of pack. Haers learned his lesson, and, with Britten high on the outside, Haers slid past him in lap 12.

“Peter passed me for the lead. He passed me on the top and I said, man, I’ve got to get up there and get up on the wheel,” said Haers, who garnered two podium finishes out of four races last year during DIRTcar Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment. “When I got up there, there was just so much more traction on the top. I was able to reel him back in, and I was able to roll him on the bottom of one and two and clear him on the backstretch.”

With the rest of the race caution free, Haers was left battling lapped traffic as he pulled further away from his runners up. Perrego, who sat behind the wheel of a big-block modified for the first time Tuesday during practice, fell to third mid-race, but kept his cool and deftly maneuvered lapped traffic. He closed in on Britten in lap 19 and slid to the outside to pass him in lap 20. Perrego fumbled with 5 laps to go, but recovered quickly enough not to lose his position.

“I almost spun around there. I was a little nervous,” Perrego said about the incident. “We got into (turn) one there, I was just trying to keep up with the lapped cars, and I got into one a little hard.”

“It was just an awesome race. I’m so excited. It’s just a great way to start the season,” said Haers of Wednesday’s race, the 2014 debut for the Super DIRTcar Series. “Tonight we were really good and, I told my guys, ‘we’re going to get a gator this year, we came so close last year.’”

Perrego came in second, and was pleased with his first big-block modified feature race finish.

“This is amazing, to come out here and finish second out of the gate,” said Perrego, who successfully battled veteran racer Hearn in his heat race.

Pauch, another seasoned driver, made the right moves to finish third.

“We moved up pretty good, and for my team, coming all the way down and running with these guys, that’s a pretty good finish,” said Pauch. “My guys worked at it hard and I think we have some notes to go from tomorrow.”

Matt Sheppard took his new Heinke-Baldwin Racing / FX Caprara Car Companies ride from its starting spot in 10th to fourth. Planck finished fifth.

The finish:

Justin Haers, Anthony Perrego, Billy Pauch, Matt Sheppard, Dale Planck, Stewart Friesen, Peter Britten, Brett Hearn, Jimmy Phelps, Jamie Mills, Steve Bernard, Jimmy Horton, Tim Kerr, Neal Williams, J.R. Heffner, Rich Scagliotta, Randy Chrysler, Jeremy Wilder, H.J. Bunting, Mat Williamson, Billy VanInwegen, C.G. Morey, Dave Rauscher, Kyle Sheldon, Mario Clair, Bruno Lepage. Yan Bussiere, Darwin Greene, Chris Ostrowsky, Daniel Nadeau, Kevin Albert, Rob Bellinger, Roger Chrysler, Dave Allen.



Previous articleLotus & Renault Extend Partnership
Next articleBloomquist Banks $10,000 At Volusia
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.