Gustin Wins Marshalltown Dirt Knights Go

Richie Gustin was the $2,000 IMCA Modified winner Tuesday night at Marshalltown Speedway. (Chuck Stowe photo)

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – The driver who has won the most Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour features added to his total Tuesday evening at Marshalltown Speedway.

Richie Gustin topped the $2,000 to win main event for IMCA Modifieds, taking the lead on lap eight and pulling away from Jordan Grabouski to capture the opening night checkers.

Gustin was already on the ballot for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational. The victory was his ninth-career win on tour and third at Marshalltown.

Tim Ward had led the stout field as the race went green, with Gustin tucking in behind to run in second. Gustin took several peeks in the corners, tried an unsuccessful slide at lap seven, then managed the pass on the front stretch at lap eight to take command.

Gustin soon had Joel Rust reeling him in, with Grabouski coming with a head of steam to run third after starting 11th. However, Gustin continued his untouched run at the front of the field, while Rust and Grabouski battled it out for the second spot.

As the laps ticked down, Gustin pulled away, and took the comfortable win. Grabouski got around Rust in the closing laps, as they finished second and third respectively.

Ricky Thornton Jr. started 14th after winning his ‘B’ feature and finished fourth, and Ward took fifth.

Thirty-six modifieds representing seven states contended in the midweek show at Marshalltown.

The finish:

1. Richie Gustin; 2. Jordan Grabouski; 3. Joel Rust; 4. Ricky Thornton Jr.; 5. Tim Ward; 6. Cody Laney; 7. Jimmy Gustin; 8. Kyle Brown; 9. Kelly Shryock; 10. Troy Cordes; 11. Todd Shute; 12. Kollin Hibdon; 13. Jeff Larson; 14. Brock Bauman; 15. Lucas Lamberies; 16. Chris Abelson; 17. Corey Dripps; 18. Jacob Hobscheidt; 19. Ryan Jenkins; 20. R.J. Merchant; 21. Sam Wieben; 22. Josh May; 23. Cayden Carter; 24. Jared Van Deest.