Gilpin Opens Modified Nationals A Winner


HAUBSTADT, Ind. -— Defending DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion Devin Gilpin kicked off the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals by driving to a 40-lap victory on Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway.

Levi Kissinger, Bryce Jewell, Tyler Nicely and Zach Fair rounded out the top five.

A stacked field of 49 DIRTcar UMP Modifieds was chasing the $3,000 checkered flag, including Ken Schrader and former DIRTcar UMP champions Mike Harrison, Randle Sweeney and Jeff Leka.

Heat race winners included Kissinger, Jewell, Gilpin, Clayton Miller, Schrader and Harrison.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals returns to action Wednesday night at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway, where it joins the DIRTcar Late Model Summer Nationals Hell Tour to kick off its month-long journey through the Midwest.