Gilpin Continues Modified Nationals Hot Streak


BROWNSTOWN, Ind. — Devin Gilpin picked up his second win in as many starts in the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals on Wednesday night at Brownstown Speedway.

Twenty-five UMP Modifieds took to the quarter-mile track, each trying to capture the $1,000-to-win checkered flag. Gilpin dominated from the drop of the green flag, going on to win over Jacob Poel for his second consecutive victory on the tour after winning on Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway.

“Anything is possible,” said Gilpin, the defending DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion from Columbus, Ind. “I had an awesome racecar and I can’t think my Grandpa enough, he has this thing dialed in everywhere we go.”

Jeff Curl, David Mielke and Derek Groomer rounded out the top five.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues on Friday at Kankakee County Speedway.

The finish:

Devin Gilpin, Jacob Poel, Jeff Curl, David Mielke, Derek Groomer, Steve Godsey, Jason Thomas, Collin Thirlby, Nick Allen, Matt Boknecht, Ryan Thomas, Shawn Brown, Kenny Wallace, Dennis Boknecht, Jacoby Hines, Jeremy Owens, Rob Gullion, Josh Klein, John DeMoss, Earl Plessinger.

Previous articleUSAC MIDGETS: Gas City I-69 Speedway
Next articleWatt Masters Clash At The Can is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.