Gallardo Aces USRA Modified Run

Fito Gallardo

LUBBOCK, Texas — Fito Gallardo topped the 20-lap USRA Modified main event during the opening night of the West Texas Crude Nationals Tuesday night at West Texas Raceway.

Kale Westover gunned into the early lead from the pole position and paced the opening seven circuits before Fito Gallardo began pressuring for the point.

The duo raced in side-by-side fashion for several laps before Gallardo surged into the lead for keeps at the midway point.

From there, Gallardo distanced himself from the field to take the win by a full straightaway in the non-stop event.

Westover successfully fought off Rodney Sanders for second in the closing rounds with Joe Duvall and William Gould rounding out the top five.

Sam Hafertepe Jr. won the sprint car feature.

The finish:

Feature (20 laps):  1. G17-Fito Gallardo, 2. 15-Kale Westover, 3. 20-Rodney Sanders, 4. 91-Joe Duvall, 5. 60-William Gould, 6. J17-Jacob Gallardo, 7. 71-Philip Houston, 8. 28-Cory Davis, 9. 10x-Dustin Robinson, 10. 10-Dee Gossett, 11. 75-Allen Sharpenstein 12. 8n-Nick Rivera, 13. D25-David Tanner, 14. 9c-Dillon Hill, 15. J41-Monte Bolton, 16. 9R-Jimmy Ray, 17. 59-Kelly Allen, 18. 7x-Chris Dawson, 19. 703-Treven Geter, 20. 7-A.J. Sharpenstein.