Friesen Romps To Outlaw Checkered Flag

Stewart Friesen

DUNDEE, N.Y. — Stewart Friesen took the checkered flag as the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series fueled by Sunoco & Halmar made its way to Outlaw Speedway Wednesday night.

The 50-lap modified feature event saw Cory Costa grab the lead with Friesen on a charge from sixth starting spot. Duane Howard passed Costa for the lead on lap four as Friesen took third spot.

Friesen passed Howard and battled Costa for the lead in traffic as Alan Johnson moved past Derrick Podsiadlo for fourth as Matt Sheppard cracked the top 10 after starting 21st. Friesen used the traffic to take the lead as Johnson slid under Howard for third. As Johnson battled Costa, Matt Williamson moved into the top five.

A caution flag on lap 24 for Danny Johnson going over the turn-three bank bunched the field back up for a restart, and Howard retook the lead from Friesen.  As they closed in on traffic, Friesen retook the lead as Sheppard stormed in from third. Sheppard used traffic to pass Howard and he and Friesen battled side by side until Sheppard got a flat right rear on lap 41, ending his charge.

Mike Mahaney moved into third on the restart as Friesen pulled away up front. At the finish, Friesen had the win, with Johnson holding off Williamson, who moved past Mahaney on the final lap. Ryan Godown used the outside lane to move from 21st to fifth.

Dave Marcuccilli won the Outlaw Sportsman Series feature and Dylan Cecee claimed the street stock main event.

The finish:

Stewart Friesen, Alan Johnson, Matt Williamson, Mike Mahaney, Ryan Godown, Billy Decker, Duane Howard, Cory Costa, Mike Gular, Kyle Coffey, Brian Krummel, Derrick Podsiadlo, Brady Fultz, Anthony Perrego, Eric Fisher, Donnie Lawson, Nick Nye, Matt Sheppard, Andy Bachetti, Justin Wright, Brett Tonkin, Rick Laubach, Ryan Jordan, Jeremy Smith, Tommy Meier, Dan Creeden, J.R. Hurlbut, Danny Johnson, Jerry Higbie, Craig Hanson, Tyler Siri.