Friesen Is Outlaw STSS Winner

Stewart Friesen, shown here earlier this year, won Wednesday's Short Track Super Series event at Outlaw Speedway. (Dave Dalesandro Photo)
The Short Track Super Series has confirmed a busy schedule for 2020. (Dave Dalesandro Photo)

DUNDEE, N.Y. — Stewart Friesen won the annual Short Track Super Series modified event at Outlaw Speedway for the second consecutive season Wednesday night.

Friesen started on the pole position as he along with Mike Mahaney brought the field to the opening green. Friesen immediately jumped into the top spot with several different drivers moving into the runner up spot but none seriously challenging Friesen for the lead.

Numerous cautions, most for flat tires slowed the pace throughout the first half of the 50-lap grind with top runners like Billy Decker, Matt Sheppard, Steve Paine and Mike Mahaney all suffering flats will racing within the top five.

As the light rain continued fierce battles emerged through the entire field of cars as 13th starter Erick Rudolph worked his way into the runner-up spot by lap 30. The third-generation pilot may have had the car to challenge Friesen for the top spot, but the rain came down to hard for the race to continue and on lap 33, STSS promoter, Brett Deyo and his officiating crew declared the track unsafe for further competition and the checkered flag waved.

This was only the second time in the history of the Short Track Super Series that a feature event had to be cut short due to rain. For Friesen it was back to back wins in STSS Series events at Outlaw Speedway and for Rudolph yet another bride’smaid finish at the Yates County oval in 2019.

Following Friesen and Rudolph across the line were Mat Williamson for third, Jeremy Smith fourth while Danny Johnson, using a Track Provisional and starting last on the grid rounded out the top five finishers.

The finish:

Stewart Friesen, Eric Rudolph, Mat Williamson, Jeremy Smith, Danny Johnson, Andy Bachetti, Alan Johnson, Billy VanPelt, Billy Decker, Craig Hanson, Mike Gular, Danny Creeden, Steve Paine, Justin Wright, Jim LaRock, Matt Sheppard, Allison Ricci, Mike Mahaney, Pat Ward, Dillon Groover, Anthony Perrago, Kyle Coffey, Mike Bowman J.R. Hulburt, Colton Wilson, Tyler Siri, Brady Fultz, Ryan Jordan.