Five USRA Winners At Webster City

Rodney Sanders in victory lane. (USRA photo)
Rodney Sanders in victory lane. (USRA photo)

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa — Kyle Falck scored his second feature win in as many nights Friday while four other racers found their way into Hamilton County Speedway’s victory lane during the second round of action at the sixth nnual Summit USRA Nationals presented by MyRacePass.

Like he did on Thursday, Falck had the field covered for the entire 20-lap distance in the American Racer USRA Stock Car feature and earned himself the pole position for Saturday’s finale.

Defending and five-time national division champ Mitch Hovden crossed the finish line alongside his fellow Decorah driver but had to settle for second behind the 2016 Arnold Motor Supply Iron Man Challenge champion.

Lynn Panos took the third spot with 2017 Iron Man titlist Derek Green finishing fourth and last year’s Iron Man champion Dillon Anderson rounding out the top five.

Rodney Sanders conquered the first Summit USRA Nationals in 2014, and has his third USMTS national championship well in hand, but Friday’s triumph in the USRA Modified feature was the first at the historic Webster City, Iowa, half-mile for the 29-year-old Happy, Texas, resident.

Lucas Schott, who won this event in 2016, had Sanders in his sights but could not find a way around the leader and had to take home the runner-up paycheck.

Current USRA Modified national points leader Brandon Davis nipped Ryan Gustin at the line to take third, and two-time track champion J.D. Auringer was fifth.

Winner of the last two Arnold Motor Supply Iron Man Challenge crowns in the Out-Pace USRA B-Mod division, Dan Hovden dominated Friday’s 20-lapper after grabbing the top spot from polesitter Cole Denner on lap two.
Ryan Maitland finished second by holding off two former national champions — Kris Jackson and Ryan Gillmore, while Denner wound up fifth.

In a replay of last night’s start, five-time and defending Mensink Racing Products USRA Hobby Stock national champ Dustin Gulbrandson and current national points leader Eric Stanton sat on the front row for their 16-lap feature.

Gulbrandson got the jump at the start and, despite multiple cautions and constant pressure from Stanton, he was able to lead wire to wire for his 16th victory of the season.

Stanton, whose 17th win of the year came one night earlier, held on for second place with last year’s Summit USRA Nationals champion Tyler Schlumbohm in third.

Steve Larson nabbed the fourth spot and Scott Dobel was the fifth driver to take the checkered flag.

The USRA Tuners joined the card Friday night and Oliver Monson picked up the win over Adam Gates.

Justin Nielson, Jeremiah Anderson and Justin Anderson completed the top five in the 15-lap feature.