Dunn Does The Job In Can-Am Showdown

Dunn Does The Job
Billy Dunn (49) battles Tim Fuller Sunday at Can-Am Speedway. (DIRTcar photo)

LA FARGEVILLE, N.Y. – A thunderstorm before the start of Sunday’s program didn’t stop promoter Tyler Bartlett from presenting the Showdown in September at Can-Am Speedway.

The rain delay was well worth it, too, as the shortened 60-lap event delivered a great feature with Billy Dunn out-dueling Tim Fuller for the win.

Late arrival Erick Rudolph completed the top three after starting from back in the field.

‘’We didn’t try to overthink and got the win,’’ said Dunn as he starts a busy fall race season. ‘’We are heading to Mohawk Friday and then NAPA Super DIRT Week.’’

Tim Sears Jr. and Ryan Arbuthnot were on the front row of the 31-car field, as Sears took the early lead over Arbuthnot. Sears and Arbuthnot raced side-by-side before Arbuthnot took the lead on lap three, with Mike Mahaney moving to fourth over Ryan Bartlett.

The first caution came on lap five for Garrett Rushlow.

On the restart, Sears went back in front, with Arbuthnot being challenged by Raabe for the second position as Billy Dunn cracked the top five at that point. Dunn passed Mahaney for fourth with 15 laps in the books, as the leaders got into slower cars.

Dunn was on the move as he passed Raabe for third on lap 23. The driver of the No. 49 machine continued his way up front, inching close to Arbuthnot at the halfway point.

Dunn used the inside portion to pass Arbuthnot for the second spot and started challenging the leader with 28 laps to go.

The second caution came out for Mike Mandigo who stopped on the backstretch as Mike Mahaney headed to the pits with smoke coming out from his engine bay and lost his top five position.

The green lights came back on lap 40 and saw Sears and Dunn in battle with Rudolph, who joined the front five after starting in 18th position.

Dunn went to the lead on lap 45 as Arbuthnot and Fuller exchanged the second position, with Rudolph moving to fourth with a dozen laps to go.

Fuller started to challenge Dunn, with the No. 49 closing the door several times as Rudolph took his place on the podium, but Dunn led the final laps and took the win over Fuller.

Rudolph, Arbuthnot and Jordan McCreadie completed the top five.

The finish:

Billy Dunn, Tim Fuller, Erick Rudolph, Ryan Arbuthnot, Jordan McCreadie, Chris Raabe, Tim Sears Jr., Dave Marcuccilli, Brian McDonald, Lance Willix, Larry Wight, Corey Wheeler, Nick Webb, Kyle Dingwall, Ryan Bartlett, Pat Ward, Rob Bellinger, Ron Davis III, Billy Whittaker, Scott Webb, Tyler Meeks, Michael Parent, AJ Miller, Matt Woodruff, Ryan Poole, Jeff Sykes, Cameron Black, Mike Mandigo, Mike Mahaney, Preston Forbes, Garrett Rushlow.