Ray Bollinger Tops UMP Modified Foes

Ray Bollinger (Jim DenHamer photo)

BOSWELL, Ind. — Ray Bollinger of Kewanee, Ill., was the winner of the UMP DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals 20-lap main event at Daugherty Speedway Sunday night, scoring his first Summit Nationals tour win of the year.

Bollinger started on the outside of the front row of the 22-car field and led the entire distance with Allen Weisser not far behind. The 41-year-old Bollinger, who leads the current UMP modified national standings, picked up his 12th win of the year ahead of Weisser, Mike McKinney, Randy Lines, Levi Kissinger and Tyler Nicely, who started the day on top of the Summit tour points.

The race saw one major accident when Nick Hoffman spun between turns one and two on lap 10, causing a multi-car pileup which eliminated Hoffman, along with Kenny Wallace, Nick Allen and Zeke McKenzie, from the competition.

“I saw (Allen) Weisser stick his nose in there a little bit,” said Bollinger after his win. “I knew he was fast, but once I got on the high side, I knew I had to calm down, relax and drive away.”

Bollinger, Weiser and Kissinger were heat race winners.

The finish:

Ray Bollinger, Allen Weisser, Mike McKinney, Randy Lines, Levi Kissinger, Tyler Nicely, Matt Mitchell, Mark Grosvenor, Justin Gregory, John Clippinger, Brent Gregory, Tom Staggs, Nathan Krengle, Butch Garnaghl, Dan Hamstra, Donnie Boyer, Nick Hoffman, Kenny Wallace, Nick Allen, Zeke McKenzie, Matt Crafton, Tony Anderson.