Cooper Rides Cushion To Clarksville Victory


CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. — Matt Cooper raced side-by-side with Trent Young for the last handful of laps on Wednesday night before outdueling him on the final straightaway and claiming the $1,000 checkered flag in the eighth points event of the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour.

Cooper, of McKenzie, Tenn., qualified in the third position, but had trouble making his way to the front to challenge leader Devin Gilpin. Cooper eventually found the outside lane and started picking up time quickly.

Cooper and Young raced side-by-side even as they caught Gilpin, splitting Gilpin and continuing their duel for the lead. Cooper eventually slid past Young claiming the checkered flag at his home-state track.

Gilpin, Lucas Lee and Clayton Miller rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Gilpin and Levi Kissinger.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Thursday night at Clayhill Motorsports Park in Atwood, Tenn.

The finish:

Matt Cooper, Trent Young, Devin Gilpin, Lucas Lee, Clayton Miller, Cody Bauman, Levi Kissinger, Brock Bauman, Ray Bollinger, Todd Riley, Kenny Wallace, Justin Jenkins, Dustin Rollins, Fred Thalmann, Miles Thalmann, Ricky Knight, Kyle Robertson.