$25,000 Awaits Freedom 76 Winner


BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. – Many of the best known names in dirt track modified stock car racing will be at Grandview Speedway for the 43rd annual BPG Racing Freedom 76 Modified Classic that rewards the winner with at least $25,000.

It happens on Saturday, with the green flag falling for the start of racing action at 7 p.m.

Long time track announcer Ernie Saxton will be calling his last race. He has announced all 43 of the Freedom 76 races and will leave the booth after 45 years as the regular Saturday night announcer. The 72-year-old Saxton will continue at the track handling the public relations, advertising and sponsorship marketing.

A full series of qualifying events, including the Schaffer Motorsports Minuteman 20 (final qualifying event), leads up to the 76-lap finale. In addition there will be the Mertz Flying Dutchman Cash Dash featuring the top performers of the night battling for $1,000. New this event will be a tire changing event that will pay $500 to the winner.

An estimated $2,000 in lap sponsorship and award perks will be available including the newest award which is a recliner chair for the Hard Luck Award winner courtesy of Brian Shupp and Beltzville Furniture of Lehighton, Pa.

Some of the top names in the sport that have submitted entries include New Yorkers Alan Johnson and Bobby Varin along with Billy Pauch Jr., Sammy Piazza, Ron Roberts, Ryan Watt and David VanHorn all visitors. Among the regulars will be new Grandview modified champion Craig VonDohren, nine feature winner Duane Howard, recent Coalcracker 72 winner Jeff Strunk, Meme DeSantis, Frank Cozze, Tim Buckwalter, Jon Kellner Sr., and a host of others.

Adult tickets are priced at $30, children age six through 12 are $10 and children under six are admitted free. Pit admission is $45 and no NASCAR license is required. Camping is permitted on the grounds (no hookups) and parking on the speedway grounds is free. Rain date for the Sept. 14 event is Sept. 21.