17 Races For Iron-Man Open Wheel Modifieds

The 2021 schedule for the Iron-Man Open Wheel Modified Series has been revealed. (Adam Fenwick photo)

SOMERSET, Ky. — Officials with the Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Open Wheel Series have released next year’s schedule of events for the tour.

More than $110,000 in nightly prize money and points money will go out the door next season.

The tour will open its fifth season of competition at the Brandon Hardgrove-promoted Ponderosa Speedway and Lake Cumberland Speedways on April 16-17. The tour visits twice throughout the season as part of doubleheader weekends.

The first weekend will be April 16-17 for the Spring Showdown weekend paying $1,200-to-win each night, then again on Sept. 17-18 for the Modified Mania Weekend, with $1,200-to-win each night on tap.

Ponderosa will host the Friday races while Lake Cumberland will host the Saturday night races.

The series visits Wartburg (Tenn.) Speedway twice. The tour will visit on April 24 and again visit the Raymond Sheppard-promoted facility again on Aug. 21. Each event pays $1,200 to win.

Fred Brown’s Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Va., will host its first series event on May 1 paying $3,000 to win and $300 to start.

Thirty cars will start the feature event and the event is co-sanctioned with the Southeast Dirt Modified Series. Each series will receive at least two starting spots in the feature race. It’s the largest paying event in series history.

I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, Tenn. returns to the schedule as the Kyle Family-promoted race track will host the series on June 12 and again on July 10. Both events pay $1,200 to win.

Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn., returns to the schedule on Sept. 24-25 with a pair of $1,200 to win races as part of the Open Wheel Nationals which are racing in conjunction with the USCS sprint cars.

Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn., returns to the schedule for the first time since 2019 as they will host a $1,200-to-win show on June 19 during the 17th Annual Iron-Man Classic and a $2,000-to-win event during the Tennessee State Championship race on Oct. 16.

Crossville (Tenn.) Speedway returns to the schedule for the first time since 2017 on June 11, paying $1,200-to-win. When the series last visited in September of 2017, Shon Flanary won the event.

411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, Tenn. will host the series finale for the fifth time on Nov. 27 during the sixth annual Leftover Race paying $1,200 to win.

Boyd’s Speedway on the Tennessee/Georgia border also returns to the schedule with a single visit on April 23 paying $1,200 to win.

The series will make the first-ever visit to Mountain View Raceway in Spring City, Tenn., on July 31 paying $1,200 to win.

The schedule features 17 races in four states, Tennessee, Kentucky, Georgia and Virginia. The champion will receive $2,500. The top-five positions in the final points will receive points fund monies, all increased from 2020.

A few races are TBA’s on the schedule and will be announced at a later date. The tire rule will be announced soon.

The series will again follow the UMP rule book for technical procedures.

Former series champions include Blake Brown, Clayton Miller in (2018-19) and Flanary (2017).

2021 Iron-Man Open Wheel Series Schedule

April 16 – Ponderosa Speedway – Junction City, Ky.
April 17 – Lake Cumberland Speedway – Burnside, Ky.
April 23 – Boyd’s Speedway – Ringgold, Ga.
April 24 – Wartburg Speedway – Wartburg, Tenn.
May 1 – Wythe Raceway – Rural Retreat, Va.
June 11 – Crossville Speedway – Crossville, Tenn.
June 12 – I-75 Raceway – Sweetwater, Tenn.
June 19 – Smoky Mountain Speedway – Maryville, Tenn.
July 9 – TBA – TBA
July 10 – I-75 Raceway – Sweetwater, Tenn.
July 31 – Mountain View Raceway – Spring City, Tenn.
Aug. 14 – TBA – TBA
Aug. 20 – TBA – TBA
Aug. 21 – Wartburg Speedway – Wartburg, Tenn.
Sept. 17 – Ponderosa Speedway – Junction City, Ky.
Sept. 18 – Lake Cumberland Speedway – Burnside, Ky.
Sept. 24 – Volunteer Speedway – Bulls Gap, Tenn.
Sept. 25 – Volunteer Speedway – Bulls Gap, Tenn.
Oct. 16 – Smoky Mountain Speedway – Maryville, Tenn.
Nov. 13 – TBA – TBA
Nov. 27 – 411 Motor Speedway – Seymour, Tenn.