13 Races For DIRTcar 358 Modified Series

13 Races For DIRTcar
The DIRTcar 358 Modified Series schedule was revealed on Friday. (Joe Kaminski Jr. photo)

INDIANAPOLIS — The 2020 DIRTcar 358 Modified Series schedule was released on Friday during the second day of the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show in Indianapolis.

It includes many fan-favorite events, plus a new exciting two-race Quebec swing.

Building off the success of 2019 the series will once again be a unified tour. The DIRTcar 358 Series championship will include points earned at drivers’ weekly home tracks, as well as points earned at each series event.

DIRTcar 358 Modified Series standouts like Erick Rudolph, Mike Mahaney, Dave Marcuccilli, Corey Wheeler and more will battle it out wheel-to-wheel across the Northeast and Canada at tracks like Fulton Speedway, Utica-Rome Speedway and Autodrome Drummond, all hotbeds for DIRTcar 358 Modified action.

The season kicks off on April 25 during the High Bank Holdup at Fulton Speedway. This highly anticipated event will boast a tremendous car count and incredibly close competition.

With Fulton sanctioning 358s in the Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly Championship, the field will be full of local and traveling contenders.

A pair of Sundays and Mondays mark the next four series races, beginning with a return to Utica-Rome Speedway in Vernon, N.Y., on May 10. Last year, 358 star and Utica-Rome regular Rudolph took the checkered flag at Utica-Rome.

Fast forward to mid-July and the 358 Modified Series heats up starting July 12 at quarter-mile Cornwall Motor Speedway, where Canadian, North Country and Central New York favorites will be on hand to contend for the win.

A day later, the series jumps back across the border stateside to Mohawk Int’l Raceway.

Mohawk has been a staple on the 358 Series since its inception in 1993. Kenny Tremont Jr. took the win at Mohawk in that inaugural season, while series star Dave Marcuccilli took the win there last year on his way to a fourth-place finish in points.

Two weeks later on July 27, the mighty 358s ride back across the border for a two-race swing through Quebec. The action starts at Autodrome Drummond, where promoter and driver Yan Bussiere will be eager to defend home territory.

Following on from Drummond, the series hauls over to Autodrome Granby to take on their local stars on July 28. Danny Johnson won the first 358 Series race at Granby in 2000 in the midst of an incredible eight-race series winning streak.

The series then returns to action on Sept. 11 at Can-Am Speedway. Can-Am has reconfigured its oval into a four-tenths-mile speedway for 2020. This will be the 358 Series first look at the new track.

One week later, on Sept. 18, Mohawk Int’l Raceway hosts its second 358 Series event of the year, making it one of two tracks to double up in 2020.

The DIRTcar 358 Modified Series takes center stage during the NAPA Super DIRT Week XLIV satellite events. Utica-Rome Speedway gets the pre-game party underway on Oct. 6. Last year, Super DIRTcar Series champion Williamson took the win over rival Rudolph.

The next day, Oct. 7, Weedsport Speedway’s NAPA Super DIRT Week Kick-Off Party sets the stage for the 358s. Last year’s race was won by Larry Wight in a thriller.

Thursday, Oct. 8 marks the date of the fan-favorite Hurricane 100 at Brewerton Speedway. The Hurricane 100 has been a staple of the NAPA Super DIRT Week satellite schedule since 2001, when Bob McCreadie drove to Victory Lane.

Finally, on Saturday, Oct. 10, the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series’ Salute to the Troops 150 takes the green flag at Oswego Speedway. Billy Decker won $20,000 plus in the 150-lapper in 2019, which will be remembered as one of the best in the race’s history.

Brockville Ontario Speedway caps the 358 Series schedule. Last year, Erick Rudolph claimed his third series championship, while David Hebert shocked the field with the lucrative win in front of a packed grandstand.

2020 DIRTcar 358 Modified Series Schedule

April 25 – Fulton Speedway – Fulton, N.Y.
May 10 – Utica-Rome Speedway – Vernon, N.Y.
July 12 – Cornwall Motor Speedway – Cornwall, Ontario
July 13 – Mohawk Int’l Raceway – Akwesasne, N.Y.
July 27 – Autodrome Drummond – Drummondville, Quebec
July 28 – Autodrome Granby – Granby, Quebec
Sept. 11 – Can-Am Speedway – Lafargeville, N.Y.
Sept. 18 – Mohawk Int’l Raceway – Akwesasne, N.Y.
Oct. 6 – Utica-Rome Speedway – Vernon, N.Y.
Oct. 7 – Weedsport Speedway – Weedsport, N.Y.
Oct. 8 – Brewerton Speedway – Brewerton, N.Y.
Oct. 10 – Oswego Speedway – Oswego, N.Y.
Oct. 17 – Brockville Ontario Speedway – Brockville, N.Y.