Davenport Ready To Take On The Outlaws


It appears that Davenport is reclaiming the rhythm he enjoyed while driving the Barry Wright house car from mid-2009 through the end of the 2011 season. After struggling last year on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series in his first –- and ultimately only –- season driving for NASCAR star Clint Bowyer’’s dirt-late-model team, Davenport’’s move to AES Racing has returned him to the independent, pick-and-choose schedule that treated him and Wright so well.

““We’’ve really come together good,”” said Davenport, who has been competing in the dirt-late-model division for a decade. ““We did a lot of testing at the start of the year with different cars and different ideas, but we kind of narrowed it down to a few things that we like better than others and we’re going forward with our program now.

““We’’ve really hit on a few things here lately that have worked good for us and we’re going to the races that make the most sense for us,”” he continued. ““We’’re kind of picking our battles and going where we’re good. Once we get rolling good and get confidence in our stuff, we’ll venture out and go run some places I haven’’t been at too many times.””

Davenport could certainly give his team’s confidence a tremendous boost with a WoO LMS victory at 311 Motor Speedway, which is hosting the renowned circuit for the second consecutive season. He will have to outduel a star-studded roster of drivers, including defending WoO LMS champion Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky.; two-time titlist and current points leader Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va.; 2006 champ Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., who won last year’s tour event at 311; Shane Clanton of Fayetteville, Ga.; and 2011 champion Rick Eckert of York, Pa.

The traveling WoO LMS entourage headed to 311 -– as well as the first half of this weekend’s North Carolina doubleheader on Fri., April 19, at Fayetteville Motor Speedway –- also includes Scott James of Bright, Ind., Chub Frank of Bear Lake, Pa., Tim Fuller of Watertown, N.Y., Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., and Rookie of the Year contenders Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., Morgan Bagley of Longview, Texas, and Dillon Wood of New Smyrna Beach, Fla.

Other entrants expected at 311 include NASCAR Nationwide Series star Austin Dillon of Welcome, N.C., Dale McDowell of Chickmauga, Ga., Chris Ferguson of Mt. Holly, N.C., and Dennis ‘Rambo’ Franklin of Gaffney, S.C.